Aaron Lim Wins APPT Manila Main Event For $131,780

Aaron Lim Wins APPT Manila Main Event For $131,780In 2013, Aaron Lim won the APPT Seoul Main Event for USD $111,088, and now a little over two years later the Australian pro has done it again, this time at the APPT Manila, to become the first-ever two-time Asia Pacific Poker Tour champion. On his way to victory, the 29-year-old had to first navigate past a field of 585 players over three days to claim the title, and collect its USD $558,000 first place prize, after which he commented:
“I feel relieved. The days were very long and everyone on the final table played very well. There’s nothing that beats the rush of being on a final table. It’s something you can’t replicate in a cash game”
The USD 1,100 (PhP 50,000) Main event attracted an impressive sized field, with the $559,326 prize pool ensuring 72 money spots were available. By the time the final table of nine was reached, Aaron Lim was second in chips behind Japan’s Hayato Kitajima, with Sweden’s Douglas Olsson in 4th space.
Douglas Olsson (Q-9) subsequently took out a short-stacked Iona Finkenrath (A-K) in 7th ($15,571), before being dealt pocket sevens and doing likewise to Terry Fan (A-K) in 4th for $34,803.
Eventually, Aaron Lim (10-10) took care of Jessie Leonarez (A-3) in 3rd ($45,626) to take an 8.67m to 2.845m chip lead over Olsson into the heads-up phase of the competition. While Olsson was subsequently able to pull away to a slight lead, the Swede lost a crucial 5-5 v 10-10 all-in preflop battle, and soon after the deciding hand was played with Lim (Ac-Ad) moving all-in on a Qs-Jc-6h-8h board. Olsson made the call with Jh-9h, and with a Qc falling on the river, Olsson picked up $73,761 for his runner-up finish, while Aaron Lim made APPT history.
Final Table Results (USD):
1 Aaron Lim (Australia) $131,780
2 Douglas Olsson (Sweden) $73,761
3 Jessie Leonarez (Philippines) $45,626
4 Terry Fan (Taipei) $34,803
5 Thomas Lee (Canada) $24,041
6 Hayato Kitajima (Japan) $19,122
7 Iona Finkenrath (Germany) $15,571
8 Winfred Yu (Canada) $13,113
9 Ying Lin Chua (Malaysia) $10,927

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of