2010 WPT Southern Poker Championship Won By Hoyt Corkins

Hoyt Corkins has won the WPT Southern Poker Championship after besting a field of 208 players over three days to take down the WPT title and claim the $739,486 first place prize.  
The two time WSOP bracelet winner has now become a two times WPT champion and his latest victory brings his total live tournament earnings to more than  $5,000,000. Following his victory at the $10,000 NLHE buy-in event at the Beau Rivage in Biloxi, Mississippi, Corkins said:
“It’s wonderful. It’s been so frustrating coming in second twice, third once and sixth at another final table.”
Day 1 saw the field of 208 hopefuls who entered the tournament cut in half to 106 players with casualties including Jason Mercier, Shannon Shorr, Jeff Madsen, “Miami” John Cernuto, Chris Bell, and James Van Alstyne.
By the end of Day 2 just 27 players remained hoping to at make it to at least one of the 18 payed places, with Vedes finishing in 17th, Mackey in 14th, Justin “Boosted J” Smith in 13th, Ayaz Mahmood in 11th, and J.J. Liu in 8th. Andy Philachack became the inglorious bubble boy when Corkins eliminated him in 7th, after which the final table was set.
Corkins was the almost 2 to 1 chip leader as the final table action got underway, and managed to ease himself into the last three until a series of losing hands left him the short stack at the table. It then looked like Hoyt Corkins’  tournament was over as he found himself all-in with AJ vesus Jerry Vanstrydonck’s pocket kings but he managed to survive and eventually eliminate Vanstrydonck in third spot for $196,829.
Heads-up Hoyt Corkins had 3,635,000 chips to Kantor’s 2,665,000, but Corkins began to pull away and it was all over just 19 hands later when Kantor with Kc 10h limped preflop for 80,000 and Corkins with Ah 7C moved all and was called. The board ran out Ac 5s 2c 8c 5h to eliminate Kantor in second place for an impressive $366,643 pay day.
In the meantime the Alabama born cowboy Hoyt Corkins, also known as “Mr All-in,” secured himself a famous victory, a WPT bracelet and a hefty $739,486 first place payout for his efforts.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of