2010 Aussie Millions Event #1 Won By Matthew Ephraums

Matthew Ephraums has just won the first event of the 2010 Aussie Millions, after beating a field of 1,143 players to take down the $1,100 buy-in no-limit hold’em event and the Aus $200,025 first prize.
The tournament took place at the Crown Casino in Melbourne, Australia and was a repechage event, giving new players and those knocked out on Day 1a or 1b the opportunity of re-buying to Day 1c.
After all three flights had been played, Day 2 saw the the field narrowed to 193 players with just 108 places being paid. Those hopefuls who didn’t make it to Day 2 included Tony G, James Akenhead, Joe Hachem, Sorel Mizzi, Billy “The Croc” Argyros, Barny Boatman and Matthew Pearson.
Aussie legend Tony Hachem had to suffer the indignity of being the bubble boy, after exiting the competition in 11th spot, after which final table play got underway. Sam Vakili was first to be eliminated in 10th ($11,430 AUD) when his pocket 8’s lost to pocket deuces and a 2 on the flop.
Aaron Wilt was the ninth place finisher for $13,716 AUD, while eighth-place and $22,860 AUD, went to Jim Mastorakos. Anthony Kingston’s was unlucky to run his pocket 10’s up against Trung Tran’s pocket rockets and collected $34,290 AUD for his 7th place finish, while Tran was responsible too, for knocking Brad Rawiller in sixth place ($45,720 AUD) and Glenn Croft in fifth for $57,150 AUD.
Tran’s run eventually came to an end after Matthew Ephraums eliminated him in fourth place ($74,295 AUD), and it was some time before play got down to heads-up, when Brent Thomas exited in third for a $97,155 AUD pay day.
The final hand of the heads-up battle saw Edmonds raise the pot holding Jd 10d, Ephraums three-bet him holding A 10, and Edmonds move all-in only to be called by Ephraums dominating holding. An ace on the board all but sealed the deal there and then, and Brendan Edmonds had to be content with a $142,875 runner-up position.
As a weary Matthew Ephraums walked away from the table at 6am local time, he had the satisfaction of being crowned the victor of Event 1 and taking away the championship ring as well as $200,025 AUD in prize money.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of