Women in Poker Hall of Fame Nominations Open Until March 15th

Women in Poker Hall of Fame Nominations Open Until March 15thNominations are currently being taken for this year’s Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF), with a voting panel accepting suggestions until the competition’s cut off point on midnight of March 15. More information regarding the process can be found via the organization’s main site, Facebook page, or twitter.
Once all the nominations have been collected, the voting panel consisting of respected members of the poker industry and media will subsequently determine the most qualified and deserving person for the honor. The Induction Ceremony will then take place at The Orleans Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas on June 26th.
The WiPHoF was founded in 2007 by the Ladies International Poker Series, and according to its mission statement works “to enhance awareness and to celebrate, contributions and achievements of women in poker as recognized and respected and proponents of women in poker.” To date, 19 women have been inducted into the WiPHoF, including the following:
2008: Barbara Enright, Linda Johnson, Marsha Waggoner, Susie Isaacs.
2009: Cyndy Violette, Jan Fisher, June Field
2010: Billie Brown, Jennifer Harman, Kathy Liebert
2011: Kristy Gazes, Margie Heintz, Phyllis Caro
2012: JJ Liu, Kathy Raymond
2014: Allyn Shulman, Deborah Giardina
2016: Debbie Burkhead, Victoria Coren Mitchell
In order to be considered eligible for entry into the WiPHoF, the candidate must be at least 35 years old, and have made significant contributions to the poker world or industry over the years.
Since the organization’s inception a decade ago, the number of women enjoying success at poker has enjoyed healthy growth as gambling companies concentrate their efforts towards the female poker market. This includes an increase in sponsorship deals being offered by poker operators to women players, as well as more Ladies Events being hosted by casinos.
Female poker players who have inspired others of their gender to take up the game over the years includes Annie Duke (55), and Vanessa Selbst (33), and this year Maria Lampropulos (37) became the first women ever to win a PCA Main Event after taking down the tournament for $1,081,100. As she then commented after the victory:
“I am very proud. Every woman here–dealers, floors–every woman is very happy for me, and I’m grateful for that. I am very, very happy.”

Poker News
Victor Ramdin and PokerStars: The End of a Long Road
04 Jun 2018
Victor Ramdin has parted company with PokerStars following 12 years representing the site as a sponsored ambassador. News of the Guyanan’s departure was made just prior to the start of this year’s World Series of Poker, which was seen as a necessary move in order to preempt any confusion created by his lack of an
Phil Ivey and Maurice Hawkins In The Ascendancy Ahead of 2018 WSOP
21 May 2018
Last week, Valentin Vornicu captured two gold ring at the World Series of Poker Circuit New Orleans to top the WSOP Circuit Ring Winners list with twelve titles. Whatever clear daylight the Californian player had between himself and Maurice Hawkins, however, has now been narrowed to just one after the Florida pro won the $2,200
09 May 2018
One of the stories to emerge from the 2017 World Series of Poker had nothing to do with winning a coveted gold bracelet, but instead involved a multi-million dollar dispute between King’s Casino owner Leon Tsoukernik and Aussie poker pro Matt Kirk, with the latter accusing the former of stiffing him out of $2 million
03 May 2018
The Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF) has whittled down its initial list of 11 nominees to just 2 honorees, with Lupe Soto and Maria Ho beating their peers to be enshrined in the WiPHoF Class of 2018. The induction ceremony will take place at the the Orleans Casino in Las Vegas on June