Simon Mattsson Named Swedish Player of the Year, Again!

Simon Mattsson Named Swedish Player of the Year, Again!Simon Mattsson has just been named the Swedish Player of the Year for the second consecutive year, after beating Viktor Blom, Niklas “Lena900” Åstedt, BERRI SWEET, and “Compris” for the title. As a result, Mattsson now becomes the first player to do so in the Swedish Poker Award’s nine-year history, and commenting upon the honor, the 24 year-old pro stated:
“It was tough competition and although I personally think that BERRI SWEET was worth the prize, I’m very happy to win it myself. It is a confirmation that you do something right. Thanks to everyone who has voted.”
Mattsson collected the award a second time after consistently topping the PocketFives’ number one online player ranking since February of 2016, albeit with a few slips in and out of position along the way.
In total, Mattsson has now amassed $7,663,509 in online tournament winnings under the screen name C Darwin2, of which $4,434,541 of that amount has been won on PokerStars. This includes taking down the PokerStars SCOOP-01-H: $1,050 NL Hold’em, $750K Guaranteed event in May 2016 for $226,106.
In addition, Mattsson has also won $1,227,983 on the live tournament circuit, with 2017 proving to be his most successful year to date with $534,855 in earnings. Counted amongst last year’s successes was his biggest score to date after overcoming a field of 781 players at the PokerStars Championship Barcelona €2,200 No Limit Hold’em event for €286,200 ($337,007).
Simon Mattsson may have won both the Player of the Year and the Online Player of the Year award, but BERRI SWEET received the Performance of the Year accolade after a year in which he won $1,769,395 playing at PokerStars’ high stakes cash tables to top the site’s 2017 winner’s list. Commenting later, the mystery player said:
“2017 was my greatest poker year in my career and featured many interesting matches against exciting opponents. It’s appreciated that my game has been noted.. thanks to all those who make poker an entertaining, stimulating and positive experience for humans.”
Finally, Tomas Söderström was recognized as the Breakthrough Player of the Year, while Peter Eichhardt was honored as ‘This Year’s Ambassador.’

Poker News
03 May 2018
The Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF) has whittled down its initial list of 11 nominees to just 2 honorees, with Lupe Soto and Maria Ho beating their peers to be enshrined in the WiPHoF Class of 2018. The induction ceremony will take place at the the Orleans Casino in Las Vegas on June
05 Mar 2018
Nominations are currently being taken for this year’s Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF), with a voting panel accepting suggestions until the competition’s cut off point on midnight of March 15. More information regarding the process can be found via the organization’s main site, Facebook page, or twitter. Once all the nominations have been
28 Feb 2018
On February 22nd, the Annual American Poker Awards took place at the Andaz West Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, with 20 trophies handed out across a number of different categories. Now into its fourth year, the Global Poker Index (GPI) inspired award ceremony is sponsored by PokerStars, and each year honors the achievements of workers
08 Feb 2018
Each year, the International Gaming Awards (IGA) honors the best the gambling industry has produced over the past year, with awards being handed out across a range of different categories. One category includes the Poker Operator of the Year award, which this year went to the Kindred Group, the company behind Unibet Poker. The latest