Simon Mattsson Named Sweden's 2016 Player of the Year

The 8th Annual Swedish Poker Awards took place recently, with a number of accolades bestowed upon members of the poker industry who had accomplished great achievements in 2016. Amongst the awards handed out was one for Sweden’s Player of the Year (POY), a title that in the past has been won by high-stakes online cash player Viktor “Isildur1” Blom, and the 2014 WSOP Main Event champion Martin Jacobson.
This year, however, it was Simon “C Darwin2” Mattsson who was honored with the accolade, as well as a separate award for Achievement of the Year. Mattsson is an online pro who throughout his carer has amassed $4,988,194 playing online tournaments, including $3,007,385 on PokerStars under the screen name C Darwin2. He has notched up a further $693,128 competiting in the live arena, including in 2014 finishing the €5,300 EPT Prague Main Event in 5th place for a €235,700 ($292,116) payday.
In 2016, Mattsson won $3.5 million online and $102,237 from live tournaments, and commenting on his remarkable year explained:
“It is very rewarding to receive awards when so many others have also accomplished great achievements and results during the year. The most important thing for me right now is to try to be humble and to realize that every year might not be like 2016. It is a matter of not becoming content, to keep my feet on the ground and to not think I am better than I really am.
Following his latest recognition, Mattsson now joins a pantheon of notable Swedish players who have collected the award in the past, which includes the likes of the 2-times WSOP winner Chris Björin (2010), WSOP champion Alexander Anter (2011), and the 2013 EPT London winner Robin Ylitalo (2013).
Other players honored at the Annual Swedish Poker Awards includes Simon “Dybban” Lindell for Ambassador of the Year; “DeathByQuads” for Breakthrough of the Year; and amateur player Bo “Tommy” Alm for Regarding Player of the Year.

Poker News
03 May 2018
The Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF) has whittled down its initial list of 11 nominees to just 2 honorees, with Lupe Soto and Maria Ho beating their peers to be enshrined in the WiPHoF Class of 2018. The induction ceremony will take place at the the Orleans Casino in Las Vegas on June
05 Mar 2018
Nominations are currently being taken for this year’s Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF), with a voting panel accepting suggestions until the competition’s cut off point on midnight of March 15. More information regarding the process can be found via the organization’s main site, Facebook page, or twitter. Once all the nominations have been
28 Feb 2018
On February 22nd, the Annual American Poker Awards took place at the Andaz West Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, with 20 trophies handed out across a number of different categories. Now into its fourth year, the Global Poker Index (GPI) inspired award ceremony is sponsored by PokerStars, and each year honors the achievements of workers
08 Feb 2018
Each year, the International Gaming Awards (IGA) honors the best the gambling industry has produced over the past year, with awards being handed out across a range of different categories. One category includes the Poker Operator of the Year award, which this year went to the Kindred Group, the company behind Unibet Poker. The latest