2016 Women in Poker Hall of Fame Nominations Underway

The ‘Women in Poker Hall’ (WIPHOF) of Fame has started its nomination process early this year in order to ensure plenty of time is available for people to name their favorite choices ahead of a decision being taken on July 5th.
Unlike the ‘Poker Hall of Fame’, which inducted its first member, Johnny Moss, in 1979, and is held every year, the Women’s Hall of Fame stared its life in 2008, with the award now having morphed from an annual event to a biennial one. While women can still be voted into the overall ‘Poker Hall of Fame’, just three women have managed that feat, namely Barbara Enright (2007), Linda Johnson (2011), and Jennifer Harman (2015), making the need for the ladies to have their own version of the award all the more important.
Anyone wishing to nominate their candidate for the 2016 WIPHOF can do so by visiting the organization’s website, although three pre-requisites should guide their choices. These include the person being at least 35 years-old; having at least 10 years of experience in the poker industry; and having made a significant impact on the poker world, either by playing poker or working within the industry.
There have been 17 women who have been inducted into the WIPHOF since 2008. Only one, however, has been a non-US citizen, namely Australia’s Marsha Waggoner (Australia), who was the ‘Last Woman Standing’ at both the 1993 and 1997 WSOP Main Events, and is still playing aged 76, with $947,453 in winnings to her name.
This trend is similar to the ‘Poker Hall of Fame’ which has also had just one non-US citizen inductee out of 50 players, in this case English Edmond Hoyle (1979), although the author was inductee posthumously having died in 1769. Of course there have been other examples, such as Nick Dandolos (1979), Johnny Chan (2002), Scotty Nguyen (2013), Daniel Negreanu (2014), and John Juanda (2015), but all these players had already been granted US citizenship.

Poker News
03 May 2018
The Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF) has whittled down its initial list of 11 nominees to just 2 honorees, with Lupe Soto and Maria Ho beating their peers to be enshrined in the WiPHoF Class of 2018. The induction ceremony will take place at the the Orleans Casino in Las Vegas on June
05 Mar 2018
Nominations are currently being taken for this year’s Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF), with a voting panel accepting suggestions until the competition’s cut off point on midnight of March 15. More information regarding the process can be found via the organization’s main site, Facebook page, or twitter. Once all the nominations have been
28 Feb 2018
On February 22nd, the Annual American Poker Awards took place at the Andaz West Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, with 20 trophies handed out across a number of different categories. Now into its fourth year, the Global Poker Index (GPI) inspired award ceremony is sponsored by PokerStars, and each year honors the achievements of workers
08 Feb 2018
Each year, the International Gaming Awards (IGA) honors the best the gambling industry has produced over the past year, with awards being handed out across a range of different categories. One category includes the Poker Operator of the Year award, which this year went to the Kindred Group, the company behind Unibet Poker. The latest