2016 Poker HOF: Carlos Mortensen and Todd Brunson Honored

The 2016 Poker Hall of Fame finalists list has been narrowed down from ten players to just two, who will both be inducted into the prestigious pantheon on October 29th at Binion’s Gaming Hall in Las Vegas. Topping the list of nominees was Todd Brunson and Carlos Mortensen, who ultimately fought off competition from such players as Humberto Brenes, Eli Elezra, Chris Moneymaker, and David Ulliott to have their legacies recognized by the organization.
Todd Brunson
Todd Brunson, 47, is the son of poker legend Doyle Brunson, 83, who himself was inducted back in 1988. Todd won a gold bracelet at the 2005 WSOP $2,500 Omaha High-Low Split event for $255,945, and has since gone on to amass $4,291,671 in live earnings.
However, Todd is better known for being a regular at Las Vegas’s high stakes cash games, and was a member of the syndicate which beat Andy Beal in the mid-2000s, including Todd winning $13.5 million from the billionaire over a 11-day period. Last year, Todd won a further $5 million from Beal over one heads-up session played at the Bellagio, which added further to his legendary status in the game. As Todd commented after being awarded the biggest honor in the world of poker:
“It’s a true honor to be inducted by my peers into this prestigious institution. I literally grew up attending these ceremonies and have always respected and admired its members. To join their ranks is the honor of a lifetime.”
Carlos Mortensen
Carlos Mortensen won the WSOP Main Event in 2001, and in 2003 added the $5k Limit Hold’em title to his bracelet tally. The 47 year-old now boasts $11,976,160 in live tournament winnings, ranking him at number one on Spain’s ‘All Time Money List’. Mortensen is known for being one of the most affable and liked players on the international circuit, as well as constructing some of the most creative and artistic chip structures ever to been seen at a poker tables.
Incredibly, Mortensen now becomes the first-ever non-American player inducted into the Hall since it was created in 1979, with the exception of Edmond Hoyle who died back in 1769 before poker was even invented. Commenting on his inclusion, Mortensen stated:
“I have been playing poker professionally for more than 20 years. This game has given me so many things that I have come to cherish. I’ve always wanted to be included among the great players who make up the Poker Hall of Fame. To be included with the legends makes me very happy. I want to thank my friends, the poker fans, and all the people who vote for me. I take this honor very seriously.”

Poker News
03 May 2018
The Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF) has whittled down its initial list of 11 nominees to just 2 honorees, with Lupe Soto and Maria Ho beating their peers to be enshrined in the WiPHoF Class of 2018. The induction ceremony will take place at the the Orleans Casino in Las Vegas on June
05 Mar 2018
Nominations are currently being taken for this year’s Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF), with a voting panel accepting suggestions until the competition’s cut off point on midnight of March 15. More information regarding the process can be found via the organization’s main site, Facebook page, or twitter. Once all the nominations have been
28 Feb 2018
On February 22nd, the Annual American Poker Awards took place at the Andaz West Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, with 20 trophies handed out across a number of different categories. Now into its fourth year, the Global Poker Index (GPI) inspired award ceremony is sponsored by PokerStars, and each year honors the achievements of workers
08 Feb 2018
Each year, the International Gaming Awards (IGA) honors the best the gambling industry has produced over the past year, with awards being handed out across a range of different categories. One category includes the Poker Operator of the Year award, which this year went to the Kindred Group, the company behind Unibet Poker. The latest