World Series of Poker announces First 50 Honors Awards

UK's Jack Sinclair Triumphs at 2018 WSOP Europe Main Event

The 50th edition of the World Series of Poker hits the felt in Las Vegas in less than two weeks.

The WSOP is making the most of its 50th anniversary and announced another special event earlier this week, the First 50 Honors Awards.

The special awards event will take place on Saturday, June 29 in the midst of the WSOP. Hosted by famous WSOP commentators Lon McEachern and Norman Chad, the awards will honor the best-of-the best in the history of the WSOP as chosen by the fans and poker pros.

Anyone in America or Canada can vote on the awards and in-turn be entered to win some great prizes. Up for grabs in the prize pool include paid seats in WSOP bracelet events, including the $1,000 Mini Main event. Voters could also win a ticket to the First Fifty gala and WSOP merchandise.

So, what are the awards that will be handed out at the First 50 Honors? There are seven in total starting with the Most Memorable WSOP TV Hand. Included in the list of hands to choose from are Chris Moneymaker’s brilliant bluff of Sammy Farha in 2003 and Johnny Chan’s final hand from the 1998 WSOP versus Erik Seidel.

Yes, that’s the one from Rounders.

The next category is best overall WSOP single year performance. The most recent performance to make the list is George Danzer’s three bracelets and five final tables from 2014.

Most likely to succeed forces voters to try and predict the future and determine which player under 35 they think will win the most WSOP bracelets from 2020-2070.

Other news:   Multi-state online poker compact bill introduced in Pennsylvania

The fan favorite award includes may of poker’s best-known players including Doyle Brunson, Daniel Negreanu, Phil Hellmuth and Antonio Esfandiari.

Hellmuth turns up again in the vote for the WSOP’s favorite bad boy along with Mike Matusow and the deceased David Ulliott.

One of the toughest picks for voters may be the most impressive main event win. Do they go with Johnny Chan in 1988, Stu Ungar in 1997 or Chris Moneymaker in 2003?

Rounding out the awards is the four most important players in WSOP history. All the big names are there, Brunson, Hellmuth, Moneymaker, Cloutier, Moss, etc. Good luck picking four from that group.

All categories also have a write-in option in case your choice is missing from the ballot options. Voting is open until June 15.