WSOP Announces 2015 Poker Hall of Fame Finalists

WSOP Announces 2015 Poker Hall of Fame FinalistsThe World Series of Poker has announced its ten finalists for the 2015 Poker Hall of Fame, and while six of the players had been nominated in previous years, four of the nominees are making their debut on the list, namely Max Pescatori, Terry Rogers, Matt Savage and David “Devilfish” Ulliott. The full list of finalists is as follows:
Chris Bjorin (Sweden)
David Chiu (Chinese American)
Bruno Fitoussi (France)
Jennifer Harman (USA)
John Juanda (Indonesian American)
Carlos Mortensen (Spain)
Max Pescatori (Italy)
Terry Rogers (Ireland)
Matt Savage (USA)
David Ulliott (UK)
Unlike in previous years, just two of the players on this year’s list are native-born Americans, Jennifer Harman and Matt Savage, while the rest are foreign-born industry workers and players. This interesting development addresses past concerns that the Poker Hall of Fame had become an insular award body, almost entirely drawing on US-based, Las Vegas-centric nominees.
While all 10 players would certainly make worthy additions to the Poker Hall of Fame, David “Devilfish” Ulliott has attracted a great deal of support from the public after the 61 year-old pro died from cancer this year. The larger than life character is certainly acknowledged as a player who brought poker to a new generation of players in the early days of TV hole card technology, and as mentioned on his bio:
“What was clear by this public nomination process, David Ulliott was a beloved figure in poker whom was taken too soon, but not before he left an indelible impact on the game and all those he came in contact with.”
A 39-person panel will begin the process of choosing two HOF inductees later this month, who will subsequently be inducted in November, just as the 2015 WSOP Main Event final table gets underway.  One person not mentioned on the list, however, was PokerStars founder Isai Scheinberg, whose name was originally proposed by poker author and online poker executive, Lee Jones. While the poker world acknowledges the huge impact PokerStars has had in growing the industry over the  past 20 years, Scheinberg remains a controversial character, not least because the Israeli-Canadian still has an outstanding warrant issued against him by the US Department of Justice.

Other news:   World Series of Poker Bahamas in December

Poker News
03 May 2018
The Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF) has whittled down its initial list of 11 nominees to just 2 honorees, with Lupe Soto and Maria Ho beating their peers to be enshrined in the WiPHoF Class of 2018. The induction ceremony will take place at the the Orleans Casino in Las Vegas on June
05 Mar 2018
Nominations are currently being taken for this year’s Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF), with a voting panel accepting suggestions until the competition’s cut off point on midnight of March 15. More information regarding the process can be found via the organization’s main site, Facebook page, or twitter. Once all the nominations have been
28 Feb 2018
On February 22nd, the Annual American Poker Awards took place at the Andaz West Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, with 20 trophies handed out across a number of different categories. Now into its fourth year, the Global Poker Index (GPI) inspired award ceremony is sponsored by PokerStars, and each year honors the achievements of workers
08 Feb 2018
Each year, the International Gaming Awards (IGA) honors the best the gambling industry has produced over the past year, with awards being handed out across a range of different categories. One category includes the Poker Operator of the Year award, which this year went to the Kindred Group, the company behind Unibet Poker. The latest