Poker Hall of Fame nominees announced

Poker Hall of Fame

The lists of finalists in the running for induction into the Poker Hall of Fame has been released.

Ten finalists were announced in Las Vegas including some well-known poker players and others instrumental to the growth of the game. The 10 finalists include:

Josh Arieh
Jeremy Ausmus
Ted Forrest
Kathy Liebert
Mike Matusow
Lon McEachern & Norman Chad
Brian Rast
Matt Savage
Isai Scheinberg
Bill Smith

The 10 finalists have combined to win 29 World Series of Poker bracelets.

This year’s list of finalists was determined through an online vote and deliberation by the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council. With the finalists set the final vote is handed over the 31 living members of the Poker Hall of Fame to determine the 2023 inductee.

To be eligible for consideration for the Poker Hall of Fame nominees must be at least 40 years old and ““played consistently well against acknowledged top competition, while gaining the respect of their peers and standing the test of time.” In the case of non-players consideration is given to those that “contributed to the overall growth and success of the game, with indelible positive and lasting results.”

The 2023 Poker Hall of Fame inductee will be announced on July 13 during the WSOP’s Poker Hall of Fame Bounty Event. The bounty tournament has a $1979 buy-in to commemorate the year the hall was founded and all living hall members who play in the game will have a bounty determined by the year they were inducted.

Last year’s hall of fame inductee was Layne Flack. The six-time WSOP bracelet winner was inducted posthumously as the 61st member of the hall after passing away in 2021.

Other news:   WSOP Circuit schedule released

Poker News
25 Sep 2020
After nearly a decade of waiting PokerStars founder Isai Scheinberg received his punishment from the U.S. government for his company’s unlawful acts stemming from violating the Unlawful Internet Gambling Enforcement Act  in 2011. In the end, a judge in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York sentenced Scheinberg to time served