Unibet Poker Named IGA Poker Operator of the Year

Unibet Poker Named IGA Poker Operator of the YearEach year, the International Gaming Awards (IGA) honors the best the gambling industry has produced over the past year, with awards being handed out across a range of different categories. One category includes the Poker Operator of the Year award, which this year went to the Kindred Group, the company behind Unibet Poker.
The latest accolade once more highlights the strides being made by other poker sites in narrowing down the lead enjoyed by PokerStars over the past decade or so. After all, the world’s biggest poker site won the IGA Poker Operator of the Year title from 2013 to 2016, but last year it was subsequently awarded to Aconcagua Poker, followed by Unibet Poker this year.
Back in 2013, Unibet Poker left the Microgaming Poker Network (MPN) in order to create a separate product with Relax Gaming. The site has since positioned itself as a popular destination of choice for those players looking to compete at sites other than the top three (PokerStars, partypoker and 888Poker), with its reputation further enhanced by the brand’s willingness to listen to player feedback when determining its future direction.
Commenting after receiving the Poker Operator of the Year award, Unibet’s Head of Poker David Pomroy, said that the site would continue trying to move poker in a positive direction, and when asked what he hoped visitors to the site would tell their friends, responded:
“That hopefully they felt engaged and rewarded by the site, that poker felt fun again and if they played a live event with us, that they had a great poker vacation.”
Like all the major online poker brands, Unibet further compliments its online product by organizing live events, in this case across Great Britain. The Unibet UK Poker Tour is a busy one, too, with the Grosvenor Casino hosting the series between 22-25 February, followed by Rendezvous Brighton (March 23-25), Alea Casino Glasgow (June 29-July 1), and Manchester235 (December 7-9).
Other winners at the 2018 International Gaming Award includes PokerStars NJ (Gaming Operator Americas), Microgaming (IGaming Software Supplier), Leo Vegas (Live Casino of the Year), William Hill (Online Gaming Operator), Videoslots (Slots Operator), and Mr Green (Socially Responsible Online), to name but a few.

Poker News
03 May 2018
The Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF) has whittled down its initial list of 11 nominees to just 2 honorees, with Lupe Soto and Maria Ho beating their peers to be enshrined in the WiPHoF Class of 2018. The induction ceremony will take place at the the Orleans Casino in Las Vegas on June
05 Mar 2018
Nominations are currently being taken for this year’s Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF), with a voting panel accepting suggestions until the competition’s cut off point on midnight of March 15. More information regarding the process can be found via the organization’s main site, Facebook page, or twitter. Once all the nominations have been
28 Feb 2018
On February 22nd, the Annual American Poker Awards took place at the Andaz West Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, with 20 trophies handed out across a number of different categories. Now into its fourth year, the Global Poker Index (GPI) inspired award ceremony is sponsored by PokerStars, and each year honors the achievements of workers
12 Jan 2018
Simon Mattsson has just been named the Swedish Player of the Year for the second consecutive year, after beating Viktor Blom, Niklas “Lena900” Åstedt, BERRI SWEET, and “Compris” for the title. As a result, Mattsson now becomes the first player to do so in the Swedish Poker Award’s nine-year history, and commenting upon the honor,