PokerStars Named As IGA Poker Operator of the Year

The 9th International Gaming Awards (IGA) was held in London on February 1st, with twenty-five accolades handed out to those companies and people who have helped innovate and advance the industry over the past year.
Picking up the award for Poker Operator of the Year was PokerStars, the world’s biggest online poker room, which has now taken the honor for the fourth straight year. Commenting after receiving the award, Eric Hollreiser, VP of corporate communications for Amaya and PokerStars, said:
“We are proud that the independent judging panel named PokerStars as the Online Poker Operator of the Year. We are grateful to have earned the award, and dedicate this to the millions of players and thousands of staff who have contributed to PokerStars’ ongoing success.”
Amongst the numerous factors which contributed to PokerStars being named the top online poker operator of the year was the success of its innovative Spin & Go games, the ongoing popularity of its World Championship of Online Poker (WCOOP) series, as well as its strategic plan to attract a new mainstream audience to poker by signing top sports stars as brand ambassadors, including Neymar Jr and Cristiano Ronaldo.
Here is the full list of IGA Winners:
Casino of the Year: Studio City Macau
Casino Operator Of The Year Americas: Wynn Resorts
Casino Operator Of The Year Asia/Australia: Crown Resorts
Casino Operator Of The Year Europe: Caesars Entertainment UK
Casino VIP Room of the Year: The Ritz Club
Casino Equipment Supplier: TCSJohnHuxley
Corporate Services Supplier of the Year: Paysafe
Socially Responsible Operator of the Year Land: Galaxy Entertainment
Best User Experience in Mobile Award: IGT
iGaming Software Supplier: Yggdrasil
Innovator of the Year: Microgaming
In-Play Sports Operator of the Year: Sky Betting
Lottery Operator of the Year: Eurolotto
Mobile Operator of the Year: Mr Green
Mobile Product of the Year: Play’n GO
Online Bingo Operator of the Year: Mecca Bingo
Online Casino Operator of the Year: Leo Vegas
Online Gaming Operator of the Year: Cherry
Online Poker Operator of the Year: PokerStars
Online Sportsbook Operator of the Year: William Hill
Payment Solutions Provider Company of the Year: SafeCharge
Socially Responsible Operator of the Year Online: Unibet
Slot Provider/Supplier Product of the Year: NetEnt
Slots Operator of the Year (Online): Videoslots
Technology Provider/Supplier: BetConstruct

Poker News
03 May 2018
The Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF) has whittled down its initial list of 11 nominees to just 2 honorees, with Lupe Soto and Maria Ho beating their peers to be enshrined in the WiPHoF Class of 2018. The induction ceremony will take place at the the Orleans Casino in Las Vegas on June
05 Mar 2018
Nominations are currently being taken for this year’s Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF), with a voting panel accepting suggestions until the competition’s cut off point on midnight of March 15. More information regarding the process can be found via the organization’s main site, Facebook page, or twitter. Once all the nominations have been
28 Feb 2018
On February 22nd, the Annual American Poker Awards took place at the Andaz West Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, with 20 trophies handed out across a number of different categories. Now into its fourth year, the Global Poker Index (GPI) inspired award ceremony is sponsored by PokerStars, and each year honors the achievements of workers
08 Feb 2018
Each year, the International Gaming Awards (IGA) honors the best the gambling industry has produced over the past year, with awards being handed out across a range of different categories. One category includes the Poker Operator of the Year award, which this year went to the Kindred Group, the company behind Unibet Poker. The latest