2017 Aussie Millions One for the Record Books

The 2017 Aussie Millions took place at the Crown Casino in Melbourne from January 11th to 30th, with this year’s series proving the most successful in its almost two-decade long history. Overall, its 26 event schedule attracted a record 7,049 players to create a combined prize pool of $20,595,525, with the number of participants 11% higher than the 6,370 players recorded for 2016, and 28% up on 2015.
Furthermore, almost all of the 2017 Aussie Millions’s events saw an uptick in attendance, with a rare exception being the A$10k Main Event which attracted a healthy 725 competitors, down slightly on the 732 players who entered last year.
The impressive numbers were even more surprising considering that this year the Aussie Millions no longer fell under the umbrella of the PokerStars-sponsored Asia Pacific Poker Tour, meaning no online qualifiers were available. The Crown Melbourne was then able to counteract any potential negative impact by hosting a whole host of live qualifiers, and commenting on the development, Crown Melbourne Tournament Director Joel Williams, stated:
“So we added in two highly successful warm-up weeks as early as June last year, and this ensured that the awareness and excitement of the 2017 Aussie Millions was building within the poker community both locally and internationally, and gave everyone as much opportunity as possible to be part of this great event.”
Amongst the many highlights from this year’s Aussie Millions was the two-time winner James Chen from Taiwan, who took down Event #2: $2,500 H.O.R.S.E. for A$39,700, followed by Event #9: $25k NLHE Challenge for A$861,840. One of the most inspirational stories, though, involved Aussie amateur player Shurane Vijayaram, who won the Main Event for A$1.6 million after first qualifying for the $10k tournament via a $130 satellite tournament.
Amongst the many notable pros also cashing in at one of the 2017 Aussie Millions events was Germany’s Fedor Holz, USA’s Nick Petrangelo, the UK’s Sam Grafton, and Canada’s Mark Radoja.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of