Young Winner of 2017 MSPT Poker Bowl

Season 8 of the Mid-States Poker Tour kicked-off last week with the MSPT Poker Bowl in Las Vegas. The $1,100 buy-in Main Event subsequently attracted 695 players to create a prize pool worth $681,100, and after three days of action the tournament was eventually won by Michigan pro Jordan Young for $117,381.
Following his latest victory, Young now boasts $439,678 in live winnings, to go with the $5,692,717 he has won online playing under the screen name Jymaster0011.
The 2017 MSPT Poker Bowl saw a number of notable pros turn out for the event, and amongst those seeing a return on their money was Chris Staats in 71st ($2,248), Anthony Spinella in 59th ($2,384), Lily Kiletto in 55th ($2,384), Darren Rabinowitz in 54th ($2,520), Eric Baldwin in 48th ($2,520) and Dutch Boyd in 35th ($2,997).
Jordan Young was then one of the shortest stacks with just two tables remaining, but managed to score a key double up after his 6d-5d shove on a 3d-2c-9d flop hit a 6 on the turn against his opponent holding Ad-Qd.
Jordan Young would later enter the final table of ten as a big stack together with WSOP bracelet winner Ankush Mandavia. However, it was Chris Moon dominating the early action after eliminating a slew of players including Joseph Alban (10th), Mark Hamilton (8th), Mike Vanier (7th), and Jason Vanstrom (6th).
When just four players were left, though, Jordan Young scored a double elimination over Jordan Christos (4th) and Chris Moon (3rd) to take a slight chip advantage over Ankush Mandavia into the heads-up phase of the competition. After going back and forth a while, the players subsequently agreed to split the prize money, while leaving $10,000 for the eventual winner. That came after Young’s preflop J-4 shove beat Mandavia’s K-10 call, and later commenting on his final opponent, Young explained:
“Andy is just really good. He’s really strong especially heads-up. My card distribution was solid heads-up, so it made it easier to play against him.”
Final Table Results:
1: Jordan Young $117,381*
2: Ankush Mandavia $107,381*
3: Chris Moon $63,342
4: Jordan Christos $46,996
5: Patrick Gunraj $35,417
6: Jason Vanstrom $26,563
7: Mike Vanier $20,433
8: Mark Hamilton $16,346
9: Gary Bolden $12,260
10: Joseph Alban $10,217

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of