WSOP Legend Billy Baxter Cashes for $173k at L.A. Poker Classic

Poker Legend Billy Baxter has just scored the second biggest win of his professional career after finishing in 3rd place at the L.A. Poker Classic $1,100 $1 Million Guaranteed event for $173,580. The tournament attracted a field of 1,840 competitors, but after reaching four-handed play the remaining finalists agreed a deal in which there was just around $27,000 difference between 1st and 4th places.
The L.A. Poker Classic $1,100 buy-in event featured a prize pool worth $1,840,000, and amongst the notables pros then seeing a return on their investments was Eli Elezra in 138th ($2,400), Mike Shariati in 132nd ($2,620), Sorel Mizzi in 117th ($3,090), David Pham in 111th ($3,090), Kelly Minkin in 94th ($3,620), Dan Heimiller in 66th ($4,510), John Racener in 31st ($7,070), Cate Hall in 27th ($8,120), and David Baker in 25th ($8,120).
At the final table, Billy Baxter (A-Q) eliminated Kevin Andriamahefa (K-K) in 9th, before being dealt pocket nines and doing likewise to Lou Ojeda (6-6) in 8th. Baxter’s pocket aces were then good enough to see off Maxwell Lineberger (10-10) in 7th, and after the game eventually reached four-handed play Jesse Vilchez , Aditya Prasetyo, Daniel Barriocanal and Billy Baxter subsequently agreed to divvy the money up with all the remaining players on between 38 and 56 big blinds.
Following his latest impressive score, Billy Baxter boosts his live career earnings to $2,602,892, or around $4,096,359 when his winnings dating back to 1975 are inflation adjusted. Throughout his illustrious career, Billy Baxter, 77, has amassed 7 WSOP bracelets, all in lowball games, placing him second only to Phil Ivey (10) in terms of non-Hold’em bracelets won. Baxter is also considered a legend of the game, alongside such fellow old-time pros as Doyle Brunson, Puggy Pearson, and Stu Ungar, and in 2006 he was inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame.
Final Table Results:
1: Jesse Vilchez $185,010*
2: Aditya Prasetyo $186,770*
3: Billy Baxter $173,580*
4: Daniel Barriocanal $162,000*
5: John Conkright $72,320
6: Walter Fisher $58,250
7: Maxwell Lineberger $48,270
8: Lou Ojeda $38,250
9: Kevin Andriamahefa $28,410

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of