OnlinePoker.Net Home

WPT Legends of Poker Won By Josh Hale

August 30th, 2012 Author:

WPT Legends of Poker Won By Josh HaleJosh Hale has won the WPT Legends of Poker, after defeating a field of 622 players over five days to claim the title, and collect the $500,000 first place prize.

As the $3,500 buy-in WPT event reached its final table at the Bicycle Casino in Los Angeles, Josh Hale was in pole position on a 7.325m stack, followed by Greg Mueller (3.49m),  Raouf Malek  (3.13m), Ali Eslami (2.9m), Jeff Madsen (1.03m) and Max Steinberg (1.02m).

First to leave the arena was Jeff Madsen in 6th ($75,400), after shoving his short stack holding A-3 into Max Steinberg with pocket aces. Steinberg then followed up by eliminating Greg Mueller in 5th ($97,100), whose pocket sevens foundered against Steinberg’s A-K with a K falling on the turn.

Some entertaining dramatics then ensued after Ali Eslami was reduced to just one big blind (110k) before doubling-up four times to boost his stack to 1.59m. Eslami’s luck then run out, however, when his pocket deuces fell to the K-J of Max Steinberg, and so Ali Eslami exited in 4th for a $133,700 payday.

Next, Raouf Malek (J-6) got all his chips in on a 10-9-2-K-Q board only to discover Steinberg with A-J held the higher straight. Subsequently Raouf Malek’s departure in 3rd place ($192,400) heralded in the heads-up phase of the competition with Steinberg holding a 3-1 chip advantage over Josh Hale.

Despite eliminating every player at the final table, Max Steinberg (Q-6) then failed to close out the match after Hale (Qh-2h) made a flush on a 10c-10h-6h-4d-3h board to score a key double-up. Soon after the defining hand was played with Steinberg’s tournament at risk holding A-K to the pocket jacks of Josh Hale. The 9-8-8-5-J sealed Max Steinberg’s fate as he walked away richer to the tune of $293,490, while Josh Hale was crowned the WPT Legends of Poker.

The final table payouts were as follows:

1. Josh Hale – $500,000
2. Max Steinberg – $293,490
3. Raouf Malek – $192,400
4. Ali Eslami – $133,700
5. Greg Mueller – $97,100
6. Jeff Madsen – $75,400

Online Poker News Monthly Archive
Comments Off on WPT Legends of Poker Won By Josh Hale  

Sorry comments are closed on this article.

Contact Us About Us Our Editors Privacy policy Disclaimer FAQ Legal / UIGEA

Copyright 2003 - 2018 OnlinePoker.Net - All Rights Reserved - 18+ - Please Gamble Responsibly