WPT Ireland 2012 Reaches Day 2

The inaugural WPT Ireland Main Event is currently underway at Dublin’s Citywest Hotel, with 338 players turning out to enter the €2,500 buy-in tournament.
Day 1 of the tournament kicked off at 2pm yesterday, and amongst those celebrities competing for the roughly €200,000 first place prize was the 1997 World Snooker Champion Ken Doherty. Commenting ahead of the tournament, the 42 year-old with £3,269,385 in snooker winnings, said:
“I’ve played in a few big events at the Irish Open and loved every minute of them. I love poker. A lot of the snooker players on the tour play poker. We all have a great time trying to take each other’s money.”
Also looking to scoop a share of the prize pool was the 27-year-old Croatian beauty Tatjana Pasalic, who is sponsored by Bodog to travel the globe competing in tournaments while representing the site.
By the time Day 1 was complete, 195 hopefuls still remained in the competition, and amongst those players finishing near the top of the chip counts was the chip leader Dave Callaghan, Johannes Meyer, Jacob Nielson, Shaun Conning and Andy Black.
The entertaining Irish pro Black was able to chip up, helped by hand in which his pocket sevens made a full house on a J-7-3-3-4 board, with his opponent Sofia Lovgren paying him off all the way.
Others notable names surviving Day 1 included Ross Boatman, Jake Cody, Kara Scott, James Dempsey, Russell Carson, McLean Karr, Leo Margets, Ken Doherty and Tatjana Pasalic.
One notable name who wasn’t so fortunate was UK pro Sam Trickett who hit the rail on Day 1 after his stack was diminished when his pocket kings ran into pocket aces. Trickett then lost his remaining chips after four-bet shoving A-10 into his opponent’s A-Q. As he later tweeted:
“Busted! 4bet jammed 40 bbs with AT vs AQ…way too tilted to make good folds after the KK/AA.”
Joining him on the rail were John Eames, Barny Boatman, James Akenhead, Matt Perrins, Praz Bansi, and Padraig Parkinson.
Day 2 of the tournament resumes at 1400 GMT (0900 EST) on Friday with the top nine chip counts as follows:
1 Dave Callaghan 186,900
2 Johannes Meyer 179,400
3 Jacob Nielson 161,700
4 Shaun Conning 143,300
5 Sam Macdonald 122,000
6 Francis McCormack 118,000
7 Con Collins 115,700
8 Evan Christ 105,700
9 Andy Black 104,000

Poker News
Eliot Hudon wins WPT World Championship
23 Dec 2022
Eliot Hudon has won the largest World Poker Tour event in series history after taking down the WPT World Championship Main Event. The WPT World Championship concluded at Wynn Las Vegas on Tuesday after a WPT record 2,960 players originally bought in for $10,400. That record-setting player pool led to a record-setting $29 million prize
Phil Ivey Becomes Virtue Poker Ambassador
14 Nov 2022
Poker legend Phil Ivey’s return to the mainstream poker world continues as he has been named the latest World Poker Tour Ambassador. Ivey has had success at WPT events in the past, getting his name etched on the Mike Sexton WPT Champions Cup by winning the 2008 WPT L.A. Poker Classic. Ivey has made it
World Poker Tour Sold To Chinese Company For $35 Million
20 Jan 2021
The World Poker Tour has been sold to Element Partners, LLC for a reported $78 million. Element Partners acquired the WPT from Allied Esports Entertainment in a deal that was officially announced on Tuesday. As part of the deal Element Partners will pay Allied Esports $68,250,000 upfront, and the remaining $10 million will be paid
World Poker Tour Sold To Chinese Company For $35 Million
17 Sep 2020
The 2020 World Poker Tour World Online Championship Main Event concluded earlier this week and Phillip Mighall was the last man standing. The $10,300 Main Event drew 1,011 entries and had a $10,110,000 prize pool, which topped the $10 million guarantee. The top 135 players finished in the money, with Mighall claiming the top prize