Wai Yong Wins $2M at Manila High Roller Event

The 2016 Triton Super High Roller Series Main Event was held at the Solaire Resort & Casino in the Philippines, with the HK$500,000 (US$63,400) buy-in tournament featuring a prize pool worth US$6,285,640. Three days later, and Wai Yong, whose father is a wealthy businessman from Macau, defeated the tough field, including Bryn Kenney heads-up, to claim a huge top prize of $2,097,622.
The High Roller Event attracted 44 players, of which just nine would see returns on their investments. Amongst those falling by the wayside were such notable pros as Tom Dwan, Dan Cates, Fedor Holz, Mustapha Kanit, and Erik Seidel. Following Pratyush Buddiga‘s elimination on the bubble, the final table was subsequently set with all players then guaranteed a minimum payout of $207,430.
Sergio Aido subsequently sent Arnaud Romain to the rail in 9th, before being dealt pocket kings and scoring a double elimination of David Peters (A-Q) in 8th and Wai Chan (A-6) in 7th.
Bryn Kenney (A-K) then took care of a short-stacked Peter Chan (J-7) in 6th, before Aido (J-J) joined the fray once more by eliminating John Juanda (Q-10) in 4th. Despite moving into the lead, Aido (7d-4d) failed to improve on a 10d-9d-8s flop against Wai Kin Yong (10c-8h) and exited next in 3rd, thus ushering in the heads-up phase of the competition.
At this stage, Yong held a 2-1 chip lead over his final opponent, and a few minutes later the deciding hand was played with Bryn Kenney going all-in preflop holding K-9. Yong made the call with a dominating K-10, and with no help on either turn or river Bryn Kenney received a consolation runner-up payout of $1,401,694, while Wai Kin Yong was crowned the Triton Super High Roller champion.
Final Table Results:
1: Wai Kin Yong $2,080,557
2: Bryn Kenney $1,401,694
3: Sergio Aido $848,557
4: John Juanda $584,560
5: Winfred Yu $402,275
6: Peter Chan $301,712
7: Wai Chan $245,145
8: David Peters $213,709
9: Arnaud Romain $207,430

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of