Vance Fitzgerald Triumphs At 2015 Arizona State Poker Championship

Vance Fitzgerald Triumphs At 2015 Arizona State Poker ChampionshipVance Fitzgerald has won the 2015 Arizona State Poker Championship, after overcoming a field of 1,580 players over five days on his way to capturing the title, and walking away with its $253,600 first place prize. The annual event has been running for 11 year, and has increased in popularity since its inception, with last year’s winner Robert Tanita besting 1,460 fellow competitors to claim the tournaments top prize. Hosted at the Talking Stick Resort’s ARENA Poker Room in Scottsdale, Arizona, this year prize pool swelled to an impressive $620,150, and commenting on the competition, the poker room’s director Tom Young, said:
“The 11th Annual Arizona State Poker Championship was a huge success. We were pleased to see an increase in interest in the tournament this year surpassing last year’s competitor count. And although we had several pros battling it out for the title, it truly was anyone’s game from beginning to end.”
The $1,000 Main Event attracted a number of pros, including Dennis Phillips, Karina Jett and Kenna James. The final table subsequently featured a number of talented pros, including 2015 WSOP bracelet winner Matthew Elsby, and 2012 November Niner Jacob Balsiger. Eventually, Vance Fitzgerald would progress all the way through to heads-up play where he defeated Chad Mizner to take home the only tournament cash of his career, according to the Hendon Mob. In addition to his $253,600 in prize money, Vance Fitzgerald also received a Presidential Rolex watch, and a winners trophy.
Final Table Results:
1 Vance Fitzgerald $253,600
2 Chad Mizner $189,600
3 Jake Balsiger $134,300
4 Matt Schultz $98,750
5 Gail Getzwiller $90,850
6 Hooman Nikzul $75,050
7 Matt Elsby $59,250
8 A.T. Gruzak $43,450
9 Alex Shelton $27,650

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of