Unibet Open Malta 2011 Won By Mateusz Moolhuizen

Dutch player Mateusz Moolhuizen has won the 2011 Unibet Open Malta, after defeating a field of 293 players over three days to lift the title, and collect the €117,000 ($167,838) first place prize.
The €1,650 buy-in tournament managed to attract a top class field of players to create an impressive €417,525 prize pool. Amongst the pros turning out for the competition were such notable names as Pieter de Korver, Thomas Brolin, Jesper Hougaard, Rob Hollink, Ricardo Sousa, Paul Valkenburg and Michiel Brummelhuis.
However, none of these names managed to progress past the first two days of play and the final table of nine looked as follows:
1. Adria Maria Balaguer 933k
2. Tobias Peters 631k
3. Sampo Ryynanen 560k
4. Mikkel Christensen 528k
5. Rodolfo Gaddo 496k
6. Mateusz Moolhuizen 440k
7. Matas Dilpsas 386k
8. Rene Freymann 309k
9. Brian Linnet 148k
First to leave the arena was Rene Freymann in 9th (€8,000) after Mateusz Moolhuizen dispatched him to the rail holding pocket aces. Brian Linnet then collected €11,500 in 8th after shoving with K-2 but running into Rodolfo Gaddo’s pocket jacks.
The Maltese crowd then lost their home favourite with the elimination of Matas Dilpsas in 7th place (€15,500), with Adria Maria Balaguer (€19,500) and Mikkel Christensen (€23,500) exiting soon after.
Four handed, a short-stacked Rodolfo Gaddo then found himself all-in holding K-5 to Tobias Peters’ A-10. However, the Italian poker journalist’s hand failed to improve and he finished the tournament in 4th for a €32,000 pay-day.
After Sampo Rynanen was eliminated in 3rd (€49,000), the heads-up phase of the competition got underway with Tobias Peters ahead with 2.96 million in chip to Moolhuizen 1.4 million.
After a tough, swingy affair the final hand finally came after the Dutchman shoved with K-10 and was called by Peters with K-6. Tobias Peters then collected €76,000 for his runner-up finish, while Mateusz Moolhuizen was crowned the 2011 Unibet Open Malta Champion, and won an impressive €117,000 for his hard fought efforts.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of