Unibet Open Barcelona 2011 Won By Sanchez Cebollada

Spaniard Ruben Sanchez Cebollada has triumphed at the 2011 Unibet Open Barcelona, after defeating a field of 387 players over three days to lift the title, and collect the €145,000 ($209,446) first place prize.
In total, the large field attracted to the €1,650 event managed to create a prize pool worth an impressive €551,500.
Eventually, by the time the final table of
nine had been reached Cebollada was the third biggest chip stack, and was one of three Spaniards remaining in the competition. His other two compatriots were Jose Marin Fuentes and Emilio Munoz Dominguez.
Also competing for a share of the prize-pool were three Dutch players (Daniel Reijmer, Pim Van Riet, Tuan Duy Ngo), as well as the Russian Andrei Vlassenko, Lithuanian Tomas Kesiunas, and Sweden’s Davor Pavic.
The final table then developed into a marathon 12 hour battle which became somewhat of a shove-fest after the exits of Tomas Kesiunas in 9th (€10,000), Tuan Duy Ngo in 8th (€12,400),  Daniel Reijmer in 7th (€17,300), and Andrei Vlassenko in 6th (€23,500).
At this point the remaining player’s average stack was just 20 big blinds, and with the blinds now incredibly high, the strategy then became a straightforward shove or fold.
Eventually, just Sanchez Cebollada and Sweden’s Davor Pavic were left to battle it out for the title. After a lengthy series of raise/fold hands, the blinds had reached 80,000/160,000 when the duo got all their chips into the centre of the table.
Soon, Cebollada saw the good news that his A-9 was dominating Pavic’s A-7, and with a 9 then hitting on the flop, Ruben Sanchez Cebollada was crowned the 2011 Unibet Open Barcelona Champion, while Davor Pavic had to content himself with a runner-up finish worth €90,000.
Next stop on the Unibet Tour will be held in Dublin from the 25th to 28th August. The €1,650 event will be capped at 400 players with qualifiers available at Unibet.com starting next week.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of