UK's Sam Razavi Wins APPT Melbourne

UK's Sam Razavi Wins APPT MelbourneUK pro Sam Razavi has just won the  Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) Melbourne main event, after defeating a field of 257 players on his way to taking down the title, and collecting the $326,125 first place prize.
As the $5,000 buy-in tournament reached its final table of nine, Tom Grigg was lying in pole position ahead of Sam Razavi in 2nd spot and Keith Walker in 3rd.
First to exit the arena was Brendon Rubie in 9th ($27,175), whose Q-J foundered against the pocket jacks of Razavi, followed by a short-stacked Nigel Andrews in 8th ($36,240) after his pocket sevens push found Kristian Lunardi holding pocket kings. Nevertheless, Lunardi’s celebrations were short lived as he was the next to exit in 7th ($45,300) after his Ah-Qh found no traction against Wayne Bentley’s pocket sevens.
Wayne Bentley (K-Q) then followed up by calling James Bills (Ac-Jc) preflop shove and eliminating the Aussie in 6th for $57,375), while a surprised Gary Benson then followed his compatriot out the door in 5th ($72,475) having committed his stack holding Q-Q on a J-3-7-3-9 board only to discover Keith Walker had been playing 3-2.
Another 2 hours then elapsed before  Wayne Bentley hit the rail in 4th ($87,575), after shoving with Qc-7c on a 5h-3s-5c-8c board against Tom Grigg with 8-7. Finally, Sam Razavi with a flopped full-house eliminated Grigg next in 3rd ($114,750) to herald in the heads-up phase of the competition.
However, just one hand later Keith Walker (J-J) was all-in  against Razavi with Ks-10s, who then managed to close out the tournament in style when the cards rolled out As-2d-5s-8s-Js. Subsequently, Walker took home $205,345 for his runner-up finish, while Englishman Sam Razavi was crowned the 2012 APPT Melbourne Champion.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1: Sam Razavi — $326,125
2: Keith Walker — $205,345
3: Tom Grigg — $114,750
4: Wayne Bentley — $87,575
5: Gary Benson — $72,475
6: James Bills — $57,375
7: Kristian Lunardi — $45,300
8: Nigel Andrews — $36,240
9: Brendon Rubie – $27,175

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of