Trevor Dineen Wins 2013 Irish Poker Championship

Trevor Dineen Wins 2013 Irish Poker ChampionshipTrevor Dineen has won the 2013 Irish Poker Championship, after besting a field of 52 players over three days on his way to capturing the title, and collecting the €39,450 ($52,710) first place prize. The Irishman now boasts $196,726 in live tournament winnings and following his remarkable victory in Ireland, commented:
“I don’t even know what to think, really. This is a big one to win. Especially with a tough field like the one I played against.”
The €2,500 Irish Poker Championship  attracted a small but talented field to the Poker Village in Galway to create a prize pool worth €116K. Amongst those notable players competing but falling short of the 7 paid places was Jake Cody, Paul Weekes, Jay O’Toole, Elior Sion and Christopher Day.
By the time the final table of seven had been set, a few top pros still remained in the guise of the 2013 EPT Monte Carlo Grand Final champion Steve O’Dwyer and the 2010 UKIPT Dublin champion Max Silver, who were leading the way with over 500k in chips each. In the meantime, Trevor Dineen managed to reach the final table on a short-stack of just 35,100.
Nevertheless, Dineen was then able to progress all the way to the heads-up phase of the tournament, albeit at a 2 to 1 disadvantage against Steve O´Dwyer. A little later, however, Dineen successfully reversed positions before the final hand eventually came with Dineen shoving with A-Q only to be called by his opponent holding pocket tens. The board subsequently rolled out 8-6-J-Q-J to hand Dineen the crown, after which he commented:
“I played in Prague last December and I would love to play another EPT again. I want to try try getting a couple of more results now. Let’s see how it goes. I work for a living, I don’t play poker. And I don’t think this will change so soon.”
The final table payouts were as follows:
1. Trevor Dineen – Ireland – €39,450
2. Steve O’Dwyer – Ireland – €27,840
3. Marc MacDonnell – Ireland – €18,560
4. Ian Gascoigne – UK – €11,600
5. Thomas Hall – UK – €8,120
6. Max Silver – UK – €5,800
7. Peter Murphy – Ireland – €4,642

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of