Seiver Crushes Jungleman12 For $500k Premier League Victory

Scott Seiver has won the Party Poker Premier League V, after an exciting finishing in which he defeated heads-up specialist Daniel “Jungleman12” Cates to scoop the title, and the $500,000 first place prize.
The Premier League V saw 16 top professionals ponying up the tournament’s $125k buy-in fee with PartyPoker adding an additional $200,000 to create a prize pool worth $2.2 million. The talented field was then split into two separate groups to determine who would make the 8-seated final table.
Amongst those players failing to progress through to the ultimate round were Yevgeniy Timoshenko, Andy Frankenberger, Luke Schwartz, Erik Seidel, Eugene Katchalov, Ben Willinofsky, Vanessa Selbst, and Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier.
Of the players progressing, Scott Seiver and Daniel “Jungleman12” Cates accounted for the majority of eliminations before going heads-up practically even in chips.
First out was Sam Trickett in 8th ($55,000), followed by Mathew Frankland in 7th ($65,000), both eliminated by Daniel Cates.
Next, Seiver (7-7) dispatched Tom Dwan (K-6) in 6th ($60,000) while Cates (Ad-Qd) took care of Tony G (A-K) in 5th ($100,000) with a Q falling on the river.
Phil Laak then got in on the action holding pocket queens to Patrik Antonius’s A-9, who subsequently was reimbursed his entry fee in 4th.
Playing three-handed, Phil Laak was soon reduced to a short-stack and was forced to push with 4c-2c into the Ad-10d of Seiver, thus heralding in the heads-up phase of the competition. Eventually, the winner would be decided on a coin flip in which Seiver’s K-Q struck gold on the river to defeat the pocket sevens of Dan Cates, who walked away the runner-up for $300k.
Meanwhile, WPT and WSOP champion Scott Seiver earned the Premier League V title, and took his live tournament earnings to almost $5.4 million.
The final payouts were as follows:
1. Scott Seiver ($500,000)
2. Daniel Cates ($300,000)
3. Phil Laak ($175,000)
4. Patrik Antonius ($125,000)
5. Tony Guoga ($100,000)
6. Tom Dwan ($60,000)
7. Mathew Frankland ($65,000)
8. Sam Trickett ($55,000)

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of