Sean Jazayeri Wins WPT L.A. Poker Classic For $1.37 Million

Sean Jazayeri has won the 2012 WPT L.A. Poker Classic, after overcoming a field of 549 players over six days to lift the title, and collect the $1,370,240 first place prize.
This years prestigious $10,000 WPT Main Event at the Commerce Casino saw many of the top pros turn out to create a prize pool worth $5,270,400. Amongst those big name players competing was Phil Ivey, Phil Hellmuth, Gus Hansen, Antonio Esfandiari, Michael Mizrachi, Vanessa Rousso, Hoyt Corkins, Erick Lindgren, and Barry Greenstein.
By the time the final table of six had been reached, however, it was mostly the young talents of the game who had risen to the top, such as David Sands, Jason Somerville, Noah Schwartz and Dan Kelly. Nevertheless, the most inexperienced player at the table Sean Jazayeri started the day as the chip leader and it was he who eventually managed to see off his fierce competitors.
The first of Sean Jazayeri’s victims was a short-stacked Jason Somerville, who moved all-in with pocket eights into Jazayeri’s Ad-Qd, with the board then running out 7-4-4-2-Q. Somerville subsequently collected $202,910 for his 6th place finish.
After Dan Kelly eliminated Jason Burt  in 5th ($252,980) with a rivered straight, Jazayeri then picked-up pocket kings to dispatch Noah Schwartz (A-J) in 4th for $355,750.
At this point, half the final table were gone after just 34 hands played, but then it would take until the 69th deal that the next player departed in the guise of a short-stacked Dan Kelly  (K-J), who moved in for his last 16 big-blinds into the pocket twos of David “Doc” Sands. After the board ran out 7-4-4-4-3, Dan Kelly was out in 3rd ($521,770) and the heads-up phase of the tournament  began.
At the start of heads-up, Sands had around 9.5 million chips to Jazayeri’s 7 million, but a huge pot lost  with Sand (Q-Q) versus A-K left him with just 2.5 million behind.
Soon after, Sands (K-Q) moved all-in into the Ad-5d of Jazayeri, and was looking comfortable to double-up on a K-10-5-J board, until another 5 on the river ended his WPT aspirations.
Sands then had to be satisfied with a runner-up finish worth $806,370 while Sean Jazayeri was crowned the 2012 WPT L.A. Poker Classic Champion, collecting the WPT’s biggest season 10 paycheck along the way.

Poker News