Ray Dehkharghani Wins Wynn Classic For $235k

Ray Dehkharghani Wins Wynn Classic For $235kRay Dehkharghani has won the Card Player Poker Tour Wynn Classic Championship, after defeating a field of 207 players over four days to capture the title and collect the $235,931 first place prize.
Dehkharghani’s latest win in Las Vegas represents his biggest score ever, while pushing his live tournament earnings to $1,070,876. Impressively, the 42-year-old is mostly a limit hold’em and mixed-game cash games specialist, and commenting on his victory at the NL hold’em tournament, explained:
“I was at a big experience deficit and the guys at the final table, especially Sam [Stein] and Tom [Marchese], they are both very accomplished players. I just basically had a good day. I learned a lot from them, they are very technically proficient and it was just a great learning experience.”
The $5k Championship Event attracted a whole slew of players to the tournament, to create a prize pool worth $1,003,950. Amongst the notable names cashing in but falling short of the 10 seat final table was such players as Brad Booth in 22nd ($12,047), Loren Klein in 16th ($14,055), Christina Lindley in 15th ($16,063) and Sorel Mizzi in 11th ($18,071).
By the time the final table had been reached, Ray Dehkharghani was way out in front as the chip leader on a 1.37m stack, followed a distant second by Tom Marchese with 838k in chips. Other big names at the table included Sam Stein (621k) and Olivier Busquet (488k).
Eventually, Ray Dehkharghani would take a 2 to 1 chip advantage over Sam Stein into the heads-up phase of the competition, and before long both players were all-in preflop with Dehkharghani’s pocket kings up against the A-10 of his opponent. Unfortunately for Stein, the board then rolled out 10-9-8-5-7 to relegate him to a runner-up finish worth $170,672, while Ray Dehkharghani was crowned the Card Player Poker Tour Wynn Classic champion.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1 Ray Dehkharghani $235,931
2 Sam Stein       $170,672
3 Thomas Marchese $115,454
4 George Martov   $82,324
5 Ben Palmer       $58,229
6 Kevin Calenzo   $43,672
7 Ray Qartomy       $32,628
8 Soon Hwang       $27,609
9 Olivier Busquet $24,597
10 Hyoung Chae       $20,079

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of