Professor Larry Pileggi Triumphs At Pittsburgh Poker Open Championship

Professor Larry Pileggi Triumphs At Pittsburgh Poker Open ChampionshipProfessor of electrical and computer engineering Larry Pileggi has won the Pittsburgh Poker Open Championship for $71,782 after first besting a tough field of talented pros, which included such notable names as Greg Raymer, Dan O’Brien, and 2009 WSOP runner-up Darvin Moon.
The $1,000 buy-in Main Event was held at the Rivers Casino in Pittsburgh, and was televised as part of the Poker Night in America series. The event also succeeded in creating the largest tournament prize pool ever recorded in the Rivers Casino’s history.
By the time the final table of six had been reached, Larry Pileggi had to contend with a tough group of players which included Joseph Couden, Douglas MacKinnon, as well as other finalists David Tannenholtz, Donald Trenney and Daniel Hill.
Eventually, the wheelchair confined professor powered his way to a heads-up confrontation against David Tannenholtz, and as his wife Leah Pileggi (photo) noted in her blog entitled “It’s a wonder-filled life”:
“By the time it was heads up, the chip stacks were so large that Larry couldn’t reach beyond them. Management called me over to help. Sometime I stack chips for Larry, but I don’t usually put in his bets for him. This time I had to. ..I’m just thankful I understood how the big and small blinds work in heads up. I felt like I was wearing boxing gloves, but I tried my best not to be seen.”
Larry Pileggi then succeeded in closing out the heads-up battle to consign David Tannenholtz to a runner-up finish worth $35,890, while professor Pileggi took home the $71,782 first place prize, as well as a commemorative crystal trophy.
Final Table Results:
1. Larry Pileggi (Pittsburgh) – $71,782
2. David Tannenholtz (Nevada) – $35,890
3. Joseph Couden (Ohio) – $20,098
4. Douglas MacKinnon (N.Y.) – $17,227
5. Donald Trenney (Pennsylvania) – $15,792
6. Daniel Hill (Pennsylvania) – $12,920
As part of the Poker Night in America series, the Rivers Casino also hosted a special televised invite-only cash game, which featured Greg Raymer, Dan O’Brien, Darvin Moon, Joe Cada, Steve Dannenmann, and Larry Ormson, who eventually walked away the winner for $28,000.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of