PokerStars 2010 LAPT Florianopolis Won By Matthias Habernig

Matthias Habernig has won the 2010 LAPT Florianopolis, after defeating a field of 364 players over three days to take down the title and the $247,441 first place prize. 
The 19-year-old Austrian player became the chip leader on day 1 of the competition, and by the time he had secured a place at the final table was sitting on almost half the chips in play.
However, with six of the remaining eight finalists coming from South America Habernig knew he still had his work cut out if a European player was to become the next LAPT champion.
Nonetheless, it took just five hours for Matthias Habernig to run over the table and eventually force a heads-up battle against the Brazilian Dayan Vardanega.
Holding a 4 to 1 chip lead over his opponent, Habernig actually lost his huge advantage briefly against the Brazilian player from Ponta Grossa, before regaining control of the battle once more.
Eventually, the final hand of the competition came when Habernig was dealt an Ac-10c to his opponent’s Ah-7s. With the flop falling As-7d-Th, it was only a matter of time before all the chips made their way to the centre of the table with  Habernig’s two pair badly dominating his opponent’s inferior two pair.
A Qd followed by a Jd on the turn and river did nothing to change the situation, and so Vandanega had to settle for a runner-up position and $143,174, while Habernig walked away with full honours and a LAPT title.
The young player from Klagenfurt, Austria will now have to put any future poker aspirations on hold for a while as he has now already returned to his native country to begins a mandatory year of national service.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of