Philipp Gruissem Claims PSC Monte Carlo Title for €485,135

Philipp Gruissem Claims PSC Monte Carlo Title for €485,135The 2017 PokerStars Championship Monte Carlo is in full swing in the wealthy principality situated on France’s Mediterranean coastline, with a number of notable pros having already collected titles, including Spain’s Adrian Mateos Diaz at the €50,000 Super High Roller for €908,000.
The latest player to walk away with a PSC event also qualifies as a superstar of the game, namely Germany’s Philipp Gruissem, who took part in the €25,500 Single-Day High Roller, eventually beating back a field of 58 players and 27 re-entries, to claim a first place prize worth €485,135.
As one might expect, the event was packed with some of the world’s best poker talent, and amongst those hitting the rail outside of a money spot was Dan Colman, Mike Watson, David Yan and Erik Seidel, all of whom had bought in three times during the tournament. Brazilian Rafael Moraes subsequently bubbled in 12th place, leaving all the remaining players guaranteed a return of at least €52,060 for their efforts.
Philipp Gruissem (A-K) then took care of David Peters (6-6) in 10th to claim the chip lead, after which he eliminated Nick Petrangelo in 9th and Jason Mercier in 8th to further consolidate his position as the table leader. Continuing his assault, Gruissem (4-4) sent Justin Bonomo (K-Q) to the rail in 4th, and after Steve O’Dwyer (8-8) did likewise to
John Juanda (K-Q) in 3rd, the heads-up phase got underway between Gruissem and O’Dwyer for the title.
Content to lock up a deal, O’Dwyer ensured himself €494,665 for his bigger chip stack, while Gruissem collected €465,135, with €20,000 left over for the eventual winner. Two hands of going all-in blind later, and Gruissem then claimed the win for €485,135, having bought in just once during the event, as opposed to four times by Steve O’Dwyer.
Final Table Results:
1: Philipp Gruissem €485,135
2: Steve O’Dwyer €494,665
3: John Juanda €266,550
4: Justin Bonomo €205,100
5: Oliver Weis €162,450
6: Mikita Badziakouski €127,030
7: Daniel Dvoress €100,000
8: Jason Mercier €78,100
9: Nick Petrangelo €59,350

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of