Patrick Clarke Wins Poker Irish Open For €200k

Patrick Clarke has won the 2014 Paddy Power Poker Irish Open Main Event, after besting a field of 411 players over four days on his way to lifting the title, and collecting the top prize of €200,000.
Clarke gained entry to the €2,250 buy-in tournament via a €4 online satellite, and following his remarkable victory the Irishman was in the mood for celebrating and promptly announced, “I need to get a drink, quick.”
In total, 47 places were paid and amongst the notable players seeing a return on their investments was Gerard Harraghy in 30th ($5,250), Chris Dowling in 24th ($5,250), David Masters in 19th ($6,355), and Jesse May in 17th ($7,599).
By the time the final table of eight had been reached, Patrick Clarke was the chip leader on a 2.8m stack, followed by Liam Chevalier (1.7m), Dave Pollock (1.55m), and Barry Donovan (1.5m). Also competing for the title was Thomas O’Shea (1.3m), Oliver Lynch (1m), Jonathan Lundy (850k), and Michael Gilligan (800k).
Patrick Clarke (A-A) then proceeded to bounce Jonathan Lundy (A-K) from the competition in 8th (€19,250), before being dealt pocket tens and hitting a set to do likewise to Barry Donovan (K-K) in 7th for €26,500.
Clarke (A-8) subsequently dispatched Michael Gilligan (Q-10) to the rail in 6th (€38,500), and after Oliver Lynch exited in 5th (€54,500), Clarke resumed his assault on the final table when his A-10 bested Thomas O’Shea’s Q-9 to eliminate him in 4th for €73,800.
Three-handed play continued for a while, until Clarke (8-8) knocked out Liam Chevalier (4-4) in 3rd (€97,500) to usher in the heads-up phase of the tournament. Going into the final battle Clarke held a 2 to 1 chip advantage over Dave Pollock, and in addition to  the title and the €200,000 first place prize, both men were also playing for the extra €50,000 reserved for the Sole Survivor.
After some play, the defining hand was eventually reached with both  Clarke (K-8) and Pollock (Q-7) all-in on a 2-7-K flop. The turn and river subsequently produced a 4 and a J to consign Dave Pollock to a runner-up finish worth €130,500, while Patrick Clarke was crowned the champion.
Final Table Results:
1st. Patrick Clarke – €200,000*
2nd. Dave Pollock – €130,500
3rd. Liam Chevalier – €97,500
4th. Thomas O’Shea – €73,800
5th. Oliver Lynch – €54,500
6th. Michael Gilligan – €38,500
7th. Barry Donovan – €26,500
8th. Jonathan Lundy – €19,250

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of