Matt Affleck Triumphs At 2015 Coco Poker Open

Matt Affleck Triumphs At 2015 Coco Poker OpenMatt Affleck has triumphed at the $2,500 Coco Poker Open Championship, after overcoming a field of 410 players over three days on his way to lifting the title, as well as its $264,000 first place prize. While the pro is no stranger to success, it’s been almost two years since his last tournament victory, when he took down the 2014 WPT Borgata Winter Poker Six Max event for $88,643. Following his latest win in Florida, Affleck now boosts his live earnings to $1,771,040, to go with the $1,585,917 he had won online pre-Black Friday playing under the screen name Mcmatto.
The $2,500 buy-in event was held at the Seminole Casino in Coconut Creek, with the prize pool generated falling $77,500 short of its $1 million guarantee, representing extra value for those players involved. Amongst the top 45 finishers subsequently receiving cash payouts was Hans Winzeler in 43rd ($5,000), Chris Bolek in 39th ($5,000), Corey Burbick in 38th ($5,000), Neil Blumenfield in 28th ($6,000), Tristan Wade in 25th ($7,000), Timothy Miles in 19th ($7,000), Chance Kornuth in 12th ($12,000), and John Dolan in 11th ($12,000).
When the final table got underway, Affleck was the second shortest stack of the remaining nine players, but by the time seven players were left he had become the chip leader. Affleck further consolidated his position after an A-Q versus pocket eights preflop all-in battle which resulted in the elimination of James Brown in 6th for $40,500.
Matt Affleck followed up by taking care of Nathan Bjerno in 4th ($70,000), and Cord Garcia in 3rd ($100,500), to take an 8.6 million to 1.655 million chip lead over Jean Gaspard into heads-up. Soon after, the deciding hand was played with Gaspard all-in holding A-7 and up against the pocket eights of his opponent. The dealer then laid out a K-7-6-8-x board to consign Jean Gaspardto a runner-up finish worth $155,000, while Matt Affleck was crowned champion, and picked up the second biggest score of his professional career.
Final Table Results:
1 Matt Affleck $264,000
2 Jean Gaspard $155,000
3 Cord Garcia $100,500
4 Nathan Bjerno $70,000
5 Kevin Ho $50,500
6 James Brown $40,500
7 Daniel Notice $31,000
8 Andre Pillow $22,000
9 Patsourakis $16,000

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of