Mary Orta Wins 2014 Mini Main Event In Melbourne

Mary Orta Wins 2014 Mini Main Event In MelbourneMary Orta has won the Mini Main Event II at the Crown Poker Room in Melbourne, after topping a 407 player field over two days to claim the title and collect the $18,000 first place prize. Ahead of the competition, the Oakleigh South hospitality worker said she planned to “play patiently” and pick her spots, and following her impressive victory said she now intends to use some of the money to “buy a very nice present” for her daughter’s wedding in March.
The Mini Main Event is available to players from the 888 Poker League and Australian Poker League, with players able to qualify for the event via a range of 888PL and APL tournaments held at pubs and clubs throughout Australia and Tasmania. Last year, Peter Lau successfully turned his initial $240 investment into $16,000 to claim the lion’s share of the $66,000 prize pool.
This year, the prize pool topped $80,000 with a minimum cash for a 45th place finish worth $360, and a final table appearance guaranteeing the finalist at least a $1,600 payday. By the end of Day 1, 112 players subsequently made it through to the final day of play, with Kirill Kiryshin the unlucky bubble-boy going home empty-handed.
By the time the final table of nine had been reached, three female competitors still remained in the guise of Bec Catterwell, her mother Stephanie Catterwell, and, of course, Mary Orta. Eventually, Orta managed to progress all the way through to heads-up play where she faced off against Doug Green for the title.
A fierce final battle ensued, which ultimately came to a head with Green (9-8) and Orta (Q-J) all-in on a 8-10-9 flop. The dealer then rolled out a 4 and 2 on the turn and river to consign Doug Green to a runner-up finish worth $11,400, while Orta was crowned the champion.
Final Table Results:
1st: Mary Orta – $18,000
2nd: Doug Green – $11,400
3rd: Stephanie Caterwell – $5,800
4th: Mark Nelson – $5,500
5th: Brad Griffen – $4,400
6th: Anthony Quattrone – $3,600
7th: Bec Catterwell – $2,800
8th: Vladimir Djulic – $2,200
9th: Craig Wells – $1,600

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of