Manny Stavropoulos Wins Aussie Millions Main Event For AU$1.38m

Manny Stavropoulos Wins Aussie Millions Main Event For AU$1.38mLocal man Manny Stavropoulos has won the 2015 Aussie Millions Main Event, after overcoming a field of 648 players over five days on his way to capturing the title, and collecting the huge A$1,385,500 first place prize. Following an impressive victory which pushes his live tournament earnings to US$1,399,098, the Melbourne resident thanked his rail for their vocal support and said he was looking forward to enjoying a few beers with them later that night.
The $10,600 Main Event was held at the Crown Casino in Melbourne, and attracted enough player to create a prize pool worth $5,120,101. Amongst the notable pros then seeing a return on their buy-ins was Eoghan O’Dea in 60th ($11,852), Billy Argyros in 53rd ($15,802), Mike McDonald in 30th ($23,704), Phil Ivey in 23rd ($31,605),Tony Hachem in 22nd ($31,605), and Amichai Barer in 11th ($75,063).
After the final table of seven got underway, Germany’s Lennart Uphoff (6-6) eliminated Richard Lyndaker (A-A) in 7th for $160,000, whilst a few hours later Uphoff’s A-A was good enough to see off Brian Rast (K-10) in 5th for $315,000. A further 3.5 hours would then pass before Uphoff (J-J) knocked-out James Rann (2-2) in 4th ($430,000), and after being dealt K-10 and doing likewise to Joel Douaglin (8-2) in 3rd ($630,000) on a 10-8-7-K-A board, the heads-up phase of the competition got underway between Lennart Uphoff and Manny Stavropoulos for the title.
As the final battle commenced, Stavropoulos was at a 2-1 chip disadvantage, but after evening up the score the two players agreed a deal to split the money AU$1,285,000 and AU$1,214,500 respectively, whilst still earmarking AU$100,000 for the eventual winner. That moment came after Stavropoulos (J-10) and Uphoff (10-6) both made straights on an A-9-8-7-8 board, only Uphoff’s hand was second best, whilst Stavropoulos claimed the $1,385,500 top prize, as well as a gold winner’s bracelet.
Final Table Results:
1 Manny Stavropoulos $1,385,500
2 Lennart Uphoff     $1,214,500
3 Joel Douaglin         $630,000
4 James Rann         $430,000
5 Brian Rast         $315,000
6 Anthony Legg         $235,000
7 Richard Lyndaker   $160,000

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of