Jordan Scott Wins LAPT Peru For $168k

Jordan Scott Wins LAPT Peru For $168kJordan Scott has won the Latin American Poker Tour (LAPT) Lima, after defeating a field of 376 entrants over four days on his way to lifting the trophy, and collecting the $168,210 first place prize.
Following his remarkable victory in Peru, US player Jordan Scott commented: “I haven’t won a tournament in a while, so this was like ‘Woo! It was a great value too. I did think it was going to be a bit softer, but Latin America has gotten tougher over the past years.”
A whole slew of top names were attracted to the $2,300 Grand Final, with many hitting the rail on the first day of play, including Vanessa Selbst, Chris Moneymaker, Angel Guillen and Christian de Leon. By the time the final table of eight was reached, many notable names still remained including Brent Sheirbon, Oscar Barriga and two-times LAPT winner Jose “Nacho” Barbero.
After Maxence Debar (A-K) eliminated Roberto Vahlis (A-Q) in 8th ($20,130), Peru’s Oscar Barriga (A-K) proceeded to dispatch Aramis Salvadori (5-5) to the rail in 7th ($26,840), followed by a short stacked Jose Barbero in 6th ($36,070).
Next, Maxence Debar was back in the action once more, this time calling a short-stacked Sheirbon’s (A-7) all-in holding A-J, to send the Panamanian packing in 5th for $46,140. Continuing his assault on the final table, Maxence Debar took care of Jorge Gonzalez Pirela in 4th ($60,400), before being dealt A-8 and eliminating local hero Oscar Barriga (6c-5c) in 3rd for $81,370.
Now, Frenchman Maxence Debar just had to make his way past Jordan Scott to claim the title. Unfortunately for him, the US player is a heads-up specialist and after pummeling his way into the lead, the final hand came when Scott was dealt K-9 to Debar’s 4s-2s. With he flop falling 3-9-4, Debar re-raised Scott all-in and was then unable to to improve his one pair hand to finish the runner-up for $138,210. Meanwhile, Jordan Scott was crowned the 2012 LAPT Lima champion.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1. Jordan Scott $168,210
2. Maxence Debar $138,210
3. Oscar Barriga $81,370
4. Jorge Gonzalez Pirela $60,400
5. Brent Sheirbon $46,140
6. Jose “Nacho” Barbero $36,070
7. Aramis Salvadori $26,840
8. Roberto Vahlis $20,130

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of