India Poker Legend 2012 Won By Abhishek Goindi

Top Indian poker pro Abhishek Goindi has won the 2012 India Poker Legend (IPL), after defeating a field of 31 players on his way to claiming the trophy, and the INR 1.25 million (US$24,360) first place prize.
Back in February, Abhishek Goindi finished 2nd at the Macau Poker Cup for 
HK$1,056,500 ($136,303), and now with his latest victory in Goa, India has taken his live career earnings to US$185,329.
As the INR 100,000 (US$1,948) entry Main Event reached its final table at the Casino Royale, Abhishek Goindi was lying in 3rd spot and before long found himself going heads-up against Fredrick Hallen. After battling away for an hour,
Abhishek Goindi eventually shoved his Ah-Jh over the top of Hallen’s (10c-3s) raise on a Jd-3h-5d flop, who subsequently made the call. The turn and river then produced blanks to relegate Fredrick Hallen to a runner-up finish worth INR 700,000 (US$13,641), while Abhishek Goindi was crowned the 2012 IPL Champion.
Abhishek Goindi graduated from Christ College Bangalore and worked in banking until becoming a full time poker pro. He is now considered to be one of the best Indian poker players on the circuit and in 2011 won the first ever India Player of the Year (IPOY) award.
Abhishek Goindi is now ranked number two on India All Time Money List with US$185,329 in earnings ahead of Taha Maruf in 3rd with $129,530. However, Abhishek Goindi has still got a way to go if he is to catch Vivek Rajkumar in top spot with $4,315,714 in winnings. However, Vivek Rajkumar is now an Indian American poker pro, having earned a degree at the University of Washington in Computer Engineering and Applied Mathematics before settling in Las Vegas.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of