Geoff Smith Triumphs At 2012 ANZPT Auckland

Geoff Smith Triumphs At 2012 ANZPT AucklandGeoff Smith has won the Australia New Zealand Poker Tour (ANZPT) Auckland Main Event, after defeating a field of 207 players over five days to lift the title, and collect the NZ$ 80,502 (US$65,169) first place prize. As well as taking down the NZ$2k buy-in tournament, local man Geoff Smith had the honour of presiding over the quickest final table in ANZPT history, lasting less than 4 hours.
First to leave the arena was Patrick Healy, who ran his 7-7 into the pocket jacks of Pravin Harji to exit in 9th for NZ$10,350. A little while later, he was joined on the rail by short stack Graeme Putt (A-K), whose hand failed to improve against Monica Eastick’s pocket eights. Putt then collected NZ$13,455 for his 8th place finish, and was soon followed by Xiaodong Xia in 7th (NZ$17,595), who was unfortunate to be dealt pocket jacks as Jamie Mulligan picked up the pocket rockets.
Next, was the turn of one of the big stacks Miroslav Sheynin, who had lost a huge pot to Geoff Smith before crashing out in 6th (NZ$21,735) holding A-6 to Pravin Harji’s A-Q. Jamie Mulligan (K-4) on the small blind then chose the wrong time to make a steal as big blind Monica Eastick was holding A-A, and so Mulligan tournament drew to a close in 5th for NZ$25,875.
However, last woman standing Monica Eastick (10-10) subsequently found herself on the wrong end of Geoff Smith’s pocket aces, and so exited in 4th, and after Pravin Harji (8-8) succumbed to the pocket queens of Smith to finish in 3rd, the heads-up phase of the tournament got underway.
At this stage, Geoff Smith held a 3 to 1 chip advantage over Sebastian Martineau, and just 20 minutes later the defining hand was played after Smith was dealt K-J to his opponent’s J-3. All the chips then went to the centre of the table on a 6-J-4-3 board, before Smith saw the bad news that he was behind to Martineau’s 2 pair. However, his concern soon turned to jubilation as a 4 landed on the river to relegate Sebastian Martineau to a runner-up finish worth NZ$55,000 (after a deal was made), while Geoff Smith was crowned the 2012 PokerStars ANZPT Auckland champion.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1st: Geoff Smith – NZ$80,502
2nd: Sebastian Martineau – NZ$55,000
3rd: Pravin Harji – NZ$55,000
4th: Monica Eastick – NZ$55,000
5th: Jamie Mulligan – NZ$25,875
6th: Miroslav Sheynin – NZ$21,735
7th: Xiaodong Xia – NZ$17,595
8th: Graeme Putt – NZ$13,455
9th: Patrick Healy – NZ$10,350

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of