Gary Benson Wins Aussie Millions Event #6 For $109k

Gary Benson Wins Aussie Millions Event #6 For $109k Aussie legend Gary Benson has won the Aussie Millions $1,150 re-buy event, after defeating a field of 83 players on his way to lifting the title, and collecting the $109,000 first place prize.
The 55 year old poker pro is noted for having won a WSOP bracelet in 1996 at the $1,500 Seven-card stud event for $148,200, as well as for having attended almost every major poker tournament in Australia and New Zealand over the past few decades. In 2009 Benson was then inducted into the Australian Poker Hall of Fame, and now with his latest victory in Melbourne takes his life time earnings to $967,675.
Despite the $1,150 event attracting a relatively small field, there was a total of 257 rebuys and add-ons which helped create a hugely inflated prize pool. By the time the final table of nine had been reached, several notable players were still in contention for the title, including USA’s 2012 WSOP finalist Jake Balsiger, Brits Craig McCorkell and Neil Channing, and, of course, Gary Benson.
Benson then got lucky when his Ac-Ks made a flush against Valdemar Kwaysser’s As-Kc to eliminate the Hungarian in 8th for $13,500. Benson (A-2) followed up by knocking-out a short-stacked Alex Rich (Q-J) in 7th ($17,000), before being dealt A-K and dispatching Tino Lechich (A-Q) to the rail in 6th for $20,500.
Finally, Benson (A-Q) eliminated Patrick Healy (3-3) in 3rd ($44,500) to go heads-up against Jake Balsiger. At this stage, Benson held a 420k to 340k chip advantage over his opponent, but Benson managed to further extend his lead until the defining hnd was played with both Balsiger (K-7) and Benson (J-J) all-in preflop. The board then rolled out 2-8-2-6-Q to relegate Balsinger to a runner-up finish worth $71,000, while Gary Benson was crowned the champion.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1 Gary Benson    $109,000
2 Jake Balsiger    $71,000
3 Patrick Healy    $44,500
4 Craig McCorkell $30,000
5 Neil Channing    $24,000
6 Tino Lechich    $20,500
7 Alex Rich    $17,000
8 Valdemar Kwaysser $13,500
9 Tony Sama    $10,500

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of