First-Eagle Wins 10th Anniversary Sunday Million

First-Eagle Wins 10th Anniversary Sunday MillionCanadian online player ‘First-Eagle’ has won PokerStars’ 10th Anniversary Sunday Million, after defeating a field of 62,116 players to collect a first-place prize worth $1,146,575, after a deal was struck at the final table.
The $215 event marked PokerStars’ largest ever prize pool at $12,423,200 and six hours into the competition the bubble finally burst with 7,682 players guaranteed at least two and a half times their buy-in.
As the field continued to be whittled down, so too, was the vast number of PokerStars Team Pros, who had entered the tournament. In total, ten of them cashed in at the event, including Sigge “ClarkKent89” Reichard (7,166th), Gualter Salles (5,916th), Pius Heinz (4,338th), Johnny Lodden (4,202nd), Rino Mathis (4,081st), Matthias De Muelder (3,149th), Mickey “mement_mori” Petersen (2,377th), George Danzer (1,654th), Andre Akkari (798th) and Marcel Luske (129th).
By the 11th hour of the competition, just 100 players still remained, which then reached the final table of nine heading towards the 14th hour of play. The finalists lined-up as follows:
First-Eagle (112,989,366)
SkunkDen (99,077,631)
Dimedroll (95,849,710)
BLAABAR (92,750,827)
Unstoffable (88,211,413)
tunafish919 (56,325,060)
kaalen (30,046,742)
fireballdio (24,420,395)
yokouno1980 (21,488,856)
After the eliminations of yokouno1980 in 9th ($86,512), kaalen in 8th ($119,866) and fireballdia in 7th ($182,406), a six-way deal was discussed between the remaining finalists. It then took 35 minutes of hard negotiations before a deal was agreed with $200,000 still to play for the eventual winner.
By the time heads-up play was reached, First-Eagle held an 8 to 1 chip lead over Unstoffable, who by now may have regretted agreeing to the smallest share of the six-way deal. Unstoffable then doubled-up on his first hand only to be eliminated two hands later, after shoving his flush-draw on a Ts-8s-5d flop. Unfortunately for him, First-Eagle was holding the nut-flush draw (As-3s), and with no player hitting their hand, First-Eagle took first-place with ace high.
Here are the final pay-outs at PokerStars Sunday Million 10th Anniversary:
1. First-Eagle (Canada) $1,146,574
2. Unstoffable (Spain) $580,724
3. BLAABAR (Sweden) $709,896
4. tunafish919 (Australia) $627,317
5. Dimedroll (Russia) $995,996
6. SkunkDen (Australia) $758,986
7. fireballdia (Portugal) $182,406
8. kaalen (Sweden) $119,866
9. yokouno1980 (Israel) $86,512

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of