Eric Afriat Crowned Seminole Hard Rock Champion For $1,081,184

Eric Afriat Crowned Seminole Hard Rock Champion For $1,081,184Eric Afriat has been crowned the 2014 WPT Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown Championship winner, after besting a field of 1,795 players on his way to capturing the title, and collecting the huge $1,081,184 first place prize.
After completing his remarkable victory, the Canadian commented: “Everything was just magical. You can’t fight faith and it was my time. I always envisioned it, always felt I was going to win but the fact, after everything is over, it just sunk in that it’s ridiculous what I just accomplished.”
The $3,500 buy-in event had three starting days and allowed unlimited rebuys to create a prize pool worth $5,763,150. By the time the final table of six had been reached, Mukul Pahuja was the chip leader (118 BB), followed by James Mackey (73 BB), Jacob Bazeley (45 BB), Eric Afriat (42 BB), Chance Kornuth (33 BB), and Matt Stout (22 BB).
First to leave the table  was Chance Kornuth in 6th ($247,954), whose short-stacked shove with K-Q ran into the A-10 of James Mackey. Sixteen hands later he was followed by Matt Stout in 5th ($308,501), with his Q-10 button preflop shove called by Mukul Pahuja with A-8.
Jacob Bazeley was then unlucky to have his A-A cracked by the J-8 of Eric Afriat on a J-8-4 flop, and after the remaining chips went into the middle, the Q and 9 turn and river cards ensured Bazeley exited soon after in 4th for $371,931.
Afriat, Mackey and Pahuja subsequently played on for three hours before James Mackey (K-7) was sent by Afriat (9-9) to the rail in 3rd ($441,128) to usher in the heads-up phase of the tournament. Seven hands later, and  Eric Afriat (8-8) called the 22 BB all-in shove by Vinny Pahuja (K-9), and with the the dealer putting out a 5-5-2-10-6 board, Pahuja had to settle for a runner-up finish worth $691,965, while Eric Afriat was crowned the champion.
Final Table Payouts
1 Eric Afriat – $1,081,184
2 Mukul Pahuja – $691,965
3 James Mackey – $441,128
4 Jacob Bazeley – $371,931
5 Matt Stout  – $308,501
6 Chance Kornuth – $247,954

Poker News
Eliot Hudon wins WPT World Championship
23 Dec 2022
Eliot Hudon has won the largest World Poker Tour event in series history after taking down the WPT World Championship Main Event. The WPT World Championship concluded at Wynn Las Vegas on Tuesday after a WPT record 2,960 players originally bought in for $10,400. That record-setting player pool led to a record-setting $29 million prize
Phil Ivey Becomes Virtue Poker Ambassador
14 Nov 2022
Poker legend Phil Ivey’s return to the mainstream poker world continues as he has been named the latest World Poker Tour Ambassador. Ivey has had success at WPT events in the past, getting his name etched on the Mike Sexton WPT Champions Cup by winning the 2008 WPT L.A. Poker Classic. Ivey has made it
World Poker Tour Sold To Chinese Company For $35 Million
20 Jan 2021
The World Poker Tour has been sold to Element Partners, LLC for a reported $78 million. Element Partners acquired the WPT from Allied Esports Entertainment in a deal that was officially announced on Tuesday. As part of the deal Element Partners will pay Allied Esports $68,250,000 upfront, and the remaining $10 million will be paid
World Poker Tour Sold To Chinese Company For $35 Million
17 Sep 2020
The 2020 World Poker Tour World Online Championship Main Event concluded earlier this week and Phillip Mighall was the last man standing. The $10,300 Main Event drew 1,011 entries and had a $10,110,000 prize pool, which topped the $10 million guarantee. The top 135 players finished in the money, with Mighall claiming the top prize