Edmund Yeung Triumphs At 2016 Sky UK Poker Championship

Edmund Yeung has won the 2016 Sky Poker UK Poker Championships Main Event, after defeating a field of 1,003 players over five days on his way to lifting the trophy, and collecting £210,000 ($293,107) in prize money. Yeung only cashed in at his first live tournament in September last year, and his latest victory now accounts for all but $23,860 of his earnings.
The £1,100 Sky Poker UK Main Event was held at the Dusk Till Dawn club in Nottingham, with the venue proving so popular its prize pool exceeded the £1m guarantee set by its organizers. Amongst the notable pros subsequently seeing a return on their buy-ins was Sam Grafton in 82nd (£2,500), Andrey Veselov in 38th (£5,000), and Jeff Sharpe in 15th (£9,000).
On the last day of the event, 34 players then returned to the arena, and by around 7 p.m Jack Hoffman (Q-Q) eliminated Steve Ford (10-10) in 10th to usher in the final table. It would be another two hours, however, before the next elimination would occur, after Lawrence Bayley (Q-2) sent a short-stacked Brett Angell (K-J) to the rail in 9th.
Bayley’s run didn’t last long, though, and Edmund Yeung (10-10) sent him (A-K) to the rail in 8th, before being dealt A-K and doing likewise to Andrew Garland (9-9) in 7th. Continuing his assault at the final table, Yeung (4-4) took care of Richard Pearson (A-J) in 6th, and then Leo McClean in 3rd to go heads-up against Jack Hoffman for the title.
The final battle proved a brief affair, though, and soon after the deciding hand was played with Yeung (A-K) and Hoffman (4-4) all-in preflop. The 10-A-A-2-8 board sealed the victory, and so Hoffman had to settle for a runner-up finish worth £125,000, while Yeung became this year’s Sky Poker UK Poker Championships Main Event winner.
Final Table Results:
1 Edmung Yeung £210,000
2 Jack Hoffman £125,000
3 Leo McClean £83,500
4 Ho Yin Lee £55,000
5 Carl Jones £40,000
6 Richard Pearson £30,000
7 Andrew Garland £23,000
8 Lawrence Bayley £18,000
9 Brett Angell £15,000

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of