Divan Le Roux Wins APT Philippines 2012

Divan Le Roux Wins APT Philippines 2012South African Divan Le Roux has won the  Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines $2,700 Main Event, after besting a field of 254 players over four days on his way to collecting the $197,000 first place prize.
As the  tournament reached its final table of ten at the Resorts World Manila’s Genting Club, Divan Le Roux was lying 2nd in chips just behind Australia’s Oliver Speidel. With just one Filipino Nicandro Filart still remaining in the competition and lying in 7th spot, the host country’s chances of winning the competition for the fourth year in a row looked awfully slim.
Chip leader Oliver Speidel then got off to a great start after being dealt Q-Q and eliminating Adam Monaghan (Ah-Kh) in 10th ($10,450), followed by David Steicke in 9th ($11,700), and Antonio Martins in 8th ($12,300).
Next, Divan Le Roux (Q-Q) won a three-way pot against Franklin Acfalle (As-6s) and Oliver Speidel (Jc-10c), who  raised triing to isolate Acfalle, but instead lost a chunk of his chips to Le Roux even as Franklin Acfalle exited in 7th ($18,500).
However, Oliver Speidel was subsequently dealt Q-Q and eliminated last Filipino standing Nicandro Filart (J-J) in 6th ($24,600), while Divan Le Roux completed the two man final table tag team by sending Koreas Han Wook Kim to the rail in 5th ($30,800).
Nevertheless, Oliver Speidel’s run ended after going all-in with A-J and losing to the pocket sixes of Conrad Coetzer, with a short stacked Speidel eliminated by Le Roux soon after for a 4th place finish worth $37,000.
After Conrad Coetzer took care of China’s Ryan Hong in 3rd ($49,000), the two South African players then faced off to decide the champion.
At this stage Le Roux trailed on 1.44 million chips against Coetzer’s 2.37 million, but 34 hands later it was all over after Le Roux open-shoved with A-J and was caled by his opponent with Q-9. The J-8-6-7-4 sealed Conrad Coetzer fate who went away $104,000 richer, while Divan Le Roux was declared the APT Philippines Main Event Champion.
Final table payouts:
1st Divan Le Roux $197,000
2nd Conrad Coetzer $104,000
3rd Ryan Hong $49,000
4th Oliver Speidel $37,000
5th Han Wook Kim $30,800
6th Nicandro Filart $24,600
7th Franklin Acfalle $18,500
8th Antonio Martins $12,300
9th David Steicke $11,700
10th Adam Monaghan $10,450

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of