Dinesh Alt Wins ANZPT Sydney For $226k

Dinesh Alt Wins ANZPT Sydney For $226kSwiterland’s Dinesh Alt has won the Australia New Zealand Poker Tour (ANZPT) Sydney Main Event, after defeating a field of 459 players over three days to lift the title, and collect the $226,320 (£155,808) first place prize.
By the time the tournament reached its final table of nine, Dinesh Alt was lying in 7th place (736k) with Bosnia’s Dejan Divkovic way out in front on a 3 million chip stack. First to then leave the arena was Rick Solomon in 9th ($17,480), whose K-K ran into the A-A of David Campion. He was followed 2 hours later by Dan Kelly in 8th ($23,460), after the US pro’s 7-7 lost the race against Dominik Nitsche’s A-Q.
Unfortunately for home supporters, the next four eliminations saw the four Aussies at the final table hit the rail, starting with Gary Benson in 7th ($29,900). Donald Jones (7-7) then hit a set against Gary Benson (A-2) on a 7-A-K-3-J board to send him to the rail in 6th ($39,100), while Michael Fadersen’s A-10 foundered against the A-K of David Campion and so he exited in 5th for $48,300. Finally, with the elimination of David Campion (A-6) by Dominik Nitsche (A-10), the last remaining Aussie in the tournament bowed out in 4th for a $62,560 payday.
However, ten minutes later Dominik Nitsche with trips called an all-in bet by Dinesh Alt only to find his opponent had rivered a full house and so Nitsche subsequently exited the competition in 3rd ($80,040), whilst heralding in the heads-up phase of the competition.
At this stage Alt held a 3 to 1 chip advantage over Divkovic, but despite a solid comeback Divkovic was eventually crippled after being dealt 6-3 and making trips on a J-10-6-6-7 board. Dinesh Alt (8-9) put Divkovic to the test by re-raising him all-in on the river and after eventually making the call and losing the hand the severely depleted Bosnian was eliminated a short time later. Meanwhile, Dinesh Alt was crowned the 2013 ANZPT Sydney Main Event champion.
The final table payouts were as follows:
1 Dinesh Alt    $226,320
2 Dejan Divkovic $144,440
3 Dominik Nitsche $80,040
4 David Campion    $62,560
5 Michael Fadersen $48,300
6 Donald Jones    $39,100
7 Gary Benson    $29,900
8 Dan Kelly    $23,460
9 Rick Solomon    $17,480

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of