Demo Kirlopoulos Triumphs At Punta Cana Poker Classic

Demo Kirlopoulos Triumphs At Punta Cana Poker ClassicDemo Kirlopoulos has won the 2011 Punta Cana Poker Classic after overcoming a field of 415 players over four days to lift the title, and collect the $136,950 first place prize.
The $1,500 buy-in main event at the Hard Rock Hotel Casino in the Dominican Republic managed to attract a whole slew of poker pros to the beautiful Caribbean resort.
Amongst the notable names falling by the wayside along the way were  Dave ‘Devilfish’ Ulliott, Humberto Brenes, Peter Cross, McLean Karr, Melina Villegas, Amanda Leatherman Evelyn Ng and Tatjana Pasalic.
By the time the final table of nine had been reached, Jessica Bedoya was the last woman standing but was soon dispatched in 9th for $13,000. As the remaining finalists followed suit, eventually just Canadian player Demo Kirlopoulos and Evan Mauer from the USA were left to decide who would be crowned champion.
Despite Kiriopoulos (5.1m) starting the heads-up battle ahead of his rival Mauer on 3.3m, the American took the lead after his AK was up against the K-5 of Demo with the flop falling K-5-2. An ace on the river kept his tournament hopes alive, though, and the heads-up then raged on for around five and a half hours before the final hand was played.
Kirlopoulos had been dealt A-10 to Mauer’s K-Q and with the flop falling 10-K-10, all the chips were pushed to the centre of the table. This time, however,there was to be no lucky escapes and so Evan Mauer finished the runner-up for $82,792, while Demo Kirlopoulos became the 2011 Punta Cana Poker Classic champion.
Heaping praise on his heads-up opponent, Evan Mauer commented:
“It was a great ride and having all the Bodog players behind me at the end gave me a huge amount of confidence – I just wish I could have gone all the way but hat’s off to Demo Kirlopoulos, he played a fantastic game all week.”

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of