David Malka Wins Seminole High Roller Event for $658,000

The 2016 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown has drawn to a close in Florida, with the popular 30-tournament series having handed out over $15 million in prize money during its almost one month run. While Justin Young took down Event #18: the $3,500 Championship to claim the series’ top payout of $669,161, David Malka was not far behind having triumphed at Event #27: the $25,000 High Roller for $658,000.
The $25,000 High Roller saw 94 players pony up the high entry fee to create a prize pool worth $2,350,000. By the time the final table of nine had been set, David Malka was the short-stack at the table, with the top six places occupied by notable pros such as Sylvain Loosli, Nick Petrangelo, Timothy West, Nick Yunis, and Yevgeniy Timoshenko.
David Malka subsequently sent Lazaro Hernandez to the rail in 9th, before being dealt pocket aces and doing likewise to Brian Benderoff (J-9) in 7th for $82,250. Continuing his steamroll of the final table, David Malka then took care of Nick Yunis (5th), and Nick Petrangelo (4th), while Sylvain Loosli sent Tim West to the rail in 3rd to usher in heads-up against Malka for the title.
As the final battle got underway, Malka held a nearly 4-1 chip advantage over his remaining opponent, and not long later the deciding hand was played with both Malka (A-10) and Loosli (6-6) all-in preflop. The dealer then laid out a 4-4-2-8-A board to consign Sylvain Loosli to a runner-up finish worth $481,750, while David Malka was crowned the champion.
Malka, 28, is a Los Angeles pro who has now amassed $1,012,132 in earnings since his first tournament cash in 2008. His latest victory is by far his highest score to date, with his next best win coming in March at the WSOPC Los Angeles $3,250 High Roller for $70,355. David Malka currently has $832,417 in winning in 2016 alone.
Final Table Results:
1: David Malka $658,000
2: Sylvain Loosli $481,750
3: Tim West $298,450
4: Nick Petrangelo $206,800
5: Nick Yunis $133,950
6: Yevgeniy Timoshenko $101,050
7: Brian Benderoff $82,250
8: Steffen Sontheimer $70,500
9: Lazaro Hernandez $68,150

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of