David Larson Wins WPT Rolling Thunder for $295k

David Larson Wins WPT Rolling Thunder for $295kDavid Larson has taken down the WPT Rolling Thunder, after topping a field of 440 players over five days on his way to picking up a $295,128 first place prize. As a result, the Nevada resident now boosts his live earnings to $817,941, with his previous biggest score recorded last year after winning the $250 Superstack DeepStack Extravaganza in Las Vegas for $39,515.
The $3,500 WPT Rolling Thunder Main Event took place in Lincoln, Nebraska, and featured a prize pool of $1,408,000. Amongst the pros finishing in one of its 55 money spots was Anthony Zinno in 53rd ($5,990), Olivier Busquet in 32nd ($7,522), Alan Engel in 21st ($10,030), and Samuel Panzica II in 10th ($30,228).
David Larson entered the final table with by far the shortest stack, but soon manged a much needed double up holding pocket queens against the A-J of 2015 WSOP Main Event winner Joseph McKeehen. David Larson (10-10) then added further to his stack after sending D.J. Alexander (K-9) to the rail in 6th, while McKeehen won pot after pot to take command of the final table action. On a subsequent hand, however, Ian Steinman (K-K) laid down his set against McKeehen (Q-10) on an A-5-7-K-J board, preserving a significant portion of his chips, and later busted Ping Liu in 4th to keep his title challenge alive.
Meanwhile, McKeehen (Q-9) bluff-reraised Larson all-in on a Jh-5s-4h flop, and after the latter made the call holding Ah-7h, no further assistance arrived on turn and river to see McKeehen eliminated in 3rd place for $131,081.
Nevertheless, Steinman started heads-up play with an almost a 2-to-1 chip lead, but before long Larson managed to pull ahead when the final hand was played with his re-raising all-in holding A-6 on an A-J-6-A-Q board. Steinman elected to call holding pocket kings, and subsequently had to settle for a runner-up finish worth $201,428, while David Larson claimed the WPT Rolling Thunder title.
Final Table Results:
1: David Larson $295,128
2: Ian Steinman $201,428
3: Joseph McKeehen $131,081
4: Ping Liu $97,510
5: Andreas Kniep $69,650
6: D.J. Alexander $56,417
7: Paul McCaffrey $43,322
8: Glenn Larson $43,322
9: Pat Lyons $30,228

Other news:   Mykhailo Gutyi Triumphs at 2018 WSOPE €1,100 Turbo Bounty Hunter

Poker News
WPT Spanish Championship Won By Ali Tekintamgac
15 Aug 2019
For the second straight year the World Poker Tour will be taking a special trip through Asia during Season XVIII. The WPT announced their second “Asia Swing” during series scheduled to take place in Vietnam, Japan and South Korea this September. The Asia Swing will consist of nine tournaments (three at each stop) with points
World Poker Tour Sold To Chinese Company For $35 Million
02 Aug 2019
The 18th season of the World Poker Tour kicked off last week with the premiere event of the new season – the WPT Garden Poker Festival. Played at the Gardens Casino in Los Alamito California, the $5,000 main event ended up with a 373-player field. That led to a $1,753,100 prize pool. The bulk of
World Poker Tour Sold To Chinese Company For $35 Million
31 May 2019
The World Poker Tour’s global reach extended a little further this week after they announced their first-ever poker series in Australia. The WPT Australia Festival will take place at The Star Gold Coast in Queensland Australia from September 27 to October 7. The series will include 10 tournaments with buy-ins ranging from $330 to $5000
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently