Brotha D Wins ANZPT Darwin Main Event 2010

The 40-year-old Kiwi Hip Hop legend Danny Leaoasavaii aka “Brotha D” has won the ANZPT Darwin Main Event 2010, after defeating a field of 100 players over four days to take down the title, and collect the $57,000 first place prize.
Despite playing the game for only three years, Brotha D hit the poker headlines back in September after defeating a 218 player field at the APPT Auckland to earn NZD $170,000 (US$124,000).
To show that wasn’t just a flash in the pan, Brotha D has now triumphed in Darwin and in so doing has become the first player to win both APPT and ANZPT titles.
The Godfather of New Zealand hip hop was in commanding form at the 10 player ANZPT Darwin final table, first knocking Bruno Portaro out in 9th ($6,500) and then Trevor Potts in 8th ($8,000). Potts was all-in holding A-J against Brotha D’s pocket K’s, and despite hitting an ace on the turn Brotha D found a two-outer king on the river and was then able to sit on his big stack while the short stacks jostled for position.
Soon, Billy “The Croc” Argyros was out in 7th  ($10,000) before Brotha D holding pocket 5’s dispatched Anthony Flanagan in 6th ($12,000), whose A-Q failed to improve.
Before long, the remaining hopefuls began to fall like skittles and eventually Brotha D went heads-up against Luke Edwards.
The heads-up battle was an epic affair with the chip lead changing on several occasions before the decisive hand was played. Luke Edwards went all-in preflop holding K-Q only to be called by Brotha D with ace-seven. An ace on the flop sealed Edwards’ fate as he finished in the runner-up spot ($37,000), while Brotha D was crowned the 2010 ANZPT Darwin Main Event Champion.
Congratulations to New Zealand’s very own Brotha D on his continuing poker success, and his record breaking victory in Australia.

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of