Billy "The Croc" Argyros Snaps Up Competition At APPT Melbourne

Billy "The Croc" Argyros Snaps Up Competition At APPT MelbourneBilly “The Croc” Argyros has won the APPT Melbourne Main Event, after besting a field of 309 players over five days on his way to capturing the title, and collecting the $134,500 first place prize after a three-way deal was struck.
The Greek Australian professional poker player cashed in at his first live tournament back in 1989, with his biggest score coming in 2008 after finishing 4th at the WSOP $10k World Championship PLO event for $268,605. Following his recent victory at the Crown Casino in Melbourne, the animated Aussie, who now boasts $1,103,697 in tournament winnings, exclaimed:
“I can’t believe it! I can’t believe it! I haven’t won a poker tournament since Cleopatra was water skiing down the Nile!”
On the way to his impressive win, the Australian Poker Hall of Famer eliminated Phi Luu in 7th ($29,200), and Ashley Mason in 4th ($58,400), before finally starting the heads-up battle with a slight lead over Bowdy Tolhopf.
Having won the first couple of pots, Argyros (8-8) subsequently called his opponent’s A-10 shove and after the board rolled-out 4-9-3-6-3, Bowdy Tolhopf had to satisfy himself with a runner-up finish, although he did take home the most money after the initial ICM deal was struck. Nevertheless, for “The Croc” winning a major poker title counted much more to him than the difference in prize money, as can be seen from the photo of his impressive victory.
APPT Melbourne Final Table Results:
1st Billy Argyros – $134,500
2nd Bowdy Tolhopf – $166,000
3rd David Yan – $133,000
4th Ashley Mason – $58,400
5th Robert Damelian – $45,900
6th Joe Cabret – $37,550
7th Phi Luu – $29,200
8th Ravi Maravar – $22,920
9th Jazz Mathers – $16,650

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of