2009 Bayou Poker Challenge Championship Won By Allen "Chainsaw" Kessler

Allen “Chainsaw” Kessler has won the 2009 Bayou Poker Challenge Championship, after defeating a field of 79 players to lift the title and collect the $70,796 first prize. The poker pro has now earned $1,335,758 from live tournament cashes since coming in 16th at the WSOP $5,000 Omaha hi-lo eight-or-better event in 2001.
The $3,000 NLHE main event reached its exciting conclusion on Sunday, Dec. 20 at the Harrah’s in New Orleans, as the last nine players took their seats at the final table. Kessler held a 2 to 1 chip lead over his closest opponent, and managed to maintain his lead throughout most of the the day’s play.
Phil Hall (61) was the first to exit the final table in ninth spot ($8,317), when half an hour into the match, his AK lost out to his opponent’s pocket 5’s. Will “The Monkey” Souther, followed soon after when he pushed pre-flop with pocket J’s, only to run into KK, and picked up $9,400 for his eighth place finish.
Seventh place and $11,000 went to Ben “The Destroyer” Mintz, when he ran his QJ into pocket Q’s.
Sixth place finisher and last year’s winner, Justin “Lockdowntex” Allen, has been enjoying a golden run at Harrah’s New Orleans having made three consecutive Main Event final tables, but there was to be no repeat of last year’s result as he took away $13,000 for his efforts.
Michael Schneider entered the final table as the short stack but managed to still secure for himself a fifth place finish for a $16,000 pay day, after which the competition continued for four hours before the players eventually decided to chop the remaining prize pool.
Officially, the payout went Jim McBride 4th ($19,262) , Moutray McLaren 3rd ($28,279), and Ed Corrado 2nd ($44,360). It was decided amongst the group, that Allen “Chainsaw” Kessler should be crowned the winner and receive the top payout, a gold ring, and a $10,000 seat in the WSOP main event.
Following his victory, a delighted Kessler said, “I really like supporting these events, these are great structures. It’s one of the best tournament structures I’ve seen for this buy-in amount.”

Poker News
Matt Waxman Claims 2018 WPT Tournament of Champions Title
28 May 2018
The WPT Tournament of Champions (TOC) is an invitational only tournament consisting of past WPT champions, who can enter the competition for $15k if they wish, or this season’s winners, who automatically receive a free seat, airfare and hotel accommodations through to the end of season finale. The World Poker Tour Tournament of Champions subsequently
MSPT Hosts Largest Poker Tournament in Michigan History
26 May 2018
Mark Brazis has won the biggest poker tournament in Michigan state history after besting a field of 1,287 runners over four days at the $1,100 MSPT Battle Creek for $221,323. The Indiana resident had just $31,264 in winnings from three cashes going into the MSPT Main Event, and after claiming his famous victory, the 36-year-old
Valentin Vornicu Wins Record 12th WSOP Circuit Title
16 May 2018
Valentin Vornicu, has extended his lead over Maurice Hawkins as the World Series of Poker Circuit’s top title holder after winning a 12th ring at the WSOPC Harrah’s New Orleans $365 No Limit Hold’em event. Furthermore, Vornicu’s latest victory worth $24,084 comes just one day after he won a record 11th ring at the $365
Phil Ivey Takes Down Short Deck Event in Montenegro for $605k
14 May 2018
Phil Ivey may not be a regular on the tournament scene anymore, preferring instead to devote his time to playing high stakes cash games in Asia, but when the former world number one does get round to entering a live tourney he continues to represent a huge threat in the eyes of his opponents. Of