Phil Ivey and David Ulliott Become Latest Poker Hall Of Famers

Phil Ivey and David Ulliott Become Latest Poker Hall Of FamersPhil Ivey and David Ulliott have become the latest players to be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame (PHOF), with their appointment announced while this year’s World Series of Poker was reaching its exciting final conclusion. To receive poker’s highest honor, Ivey and Ulliott were chosen ahead of a selection other nominees which included the likes of Huck Seed, David Chiu, Matt Savage, Mori Eskandani, Max Pescatori, Ted Forrest, Mike Matusow and Thor Hansen.
Phil Ivey
Phil Ivey has been an iconic figure around the poker circuit since winning his first WSOP bracelet in 2000, followed by a haul of three more bracelets in 2002. Since then, Ivey has amassed a total of 10 WSOP bracelets, and from the $23,856,033 he has won playing live tournaments, $6,547,112 has been won at the prestigious World Series of Poker.
Ivey has also been an integral part of the high stakes cash scene for many years, which is one of the requirements for being awarded the PHOF title, and after turning 40 in February, the organization wasted no time in inducting Ivey into the pantheon of poker legends. Commenting upon the honor of having been chosen, Ivey said:
“It’s an honor to be inducted alongside legends like Chip Reese and Doyle Brunson. I love the game of poker and the game has done a lot for me. I am one of the lucky people who has been able to make a living playing a game which was always my passion. Thankfully, I’m just as passionate about the game today as when I first stepped into Binion’s Horseshoe to play my first-ever WSOP. Thank you to my family, my friends, and all the poker fans across the world that supported me on this journey.”
David Ulliott
David “DevilFish” Ulliott, who passed away in 2015, had reached the Poker Hall Of Fame nominee list on two previous occasions before finally being inducted on his third attempt this year. For many people living in the UK, Ulliott was the reason they orginally felt inspired to take up the game after seeing him on the television show called Late Night Poker. Ulliott’s skill and character was a big reason for the show’s success, and in addition to winning a season, Ulliott managed to amass $6,218,292 from playing live tournaments throughout his illustrious career, including capturing a WSOP bracelet. Commenting upon the honor of his induction to the PHOF, his family said in a statement:
“As a family we would like to thank the general public, media and current Poker Hall of Fame members that voted David into the Poker Hall of Fame. We know he will be up there strumming on his guitar and probably asking what took so long! How he might say it – I think you all know! There isn’t a day that goes past when we don’t think of him and miss him but today we are so proud and delighted that he takes his rightful place in poker history – the legend of the Devilfish lives on!”

Poker News
03 May 2018
The Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF) has whittled down its initial list of 11 nominees to just 2 honorees, with Lupe Soto and Maria Ho beating their peers to be enshrined in the WiPHoF Class of 2018. The induction ceremony will take place at the the Orleans Casino in Las Vegas on June
05 Mar 2018
Nominations are currently being taken for this year’s Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHoF), with a voting panel accepting suggestions until the competition’s cut off point on midnight of March 15. More information regarding the process can be found via the organization’s main site, Facebook page, or twitter. Once all the nominations have been
28 Feb 2018
On February 22nd, the Annual American Poker Awards took place at the Andaz West Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, with 20 trophies handed out across a number of different categories. Now into its fourth year, the Global Poker Index (GPI) inspired award ceremony is sponsored by PokerStars, and each year honors the achievements of workers
08 Feb 2018
Each year, the International Gaming Awards (IGA) honors the best the gambling industry has produced over the past year, with awards being handed out across a range of different categories. One category includes the Poker Operator of the Year award, which this year went to the Kindred Group, the company behind Unibet Poker. The latest